Vengsarkar to be awarded lifetime achievement award by Calcutta Journalists' club

After retirement Dilip Vengsarakar continued to serve the game in various roles from being the selector to helping deserving youngsters through his coaching academy AFP

Kolkata: Apr 19, 2012

Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar and Olympian Shiny Abraham Wilson will be honoured with the lifetime achievement awards during the Bluechip Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club annual function to be held in Town Hall on April 26.

National table tennis champion Anthony Amalraj and promising paddler Soumyajit Ghosh were adjudged the best senior and junior sportspersons of the country respectively.

The event will also felicitate legendary hockey Olympian duo of Keshav Dutt and Leslie Claudius.

Awards will also be given to sportspersons of the state in various disciplines while there will be a felicitation for the civilian award winners of the state.


Best Senior sportsperson: Anthony Amalraj; Best Junior sportsperson: Soumyajit Ghosh; Lifetime achievement awards: Dilip Vengsarkar and Shiny Wilson.

State Awardees:

Football: Okolie Odafa; Cricket: Ashoke Dinda; Hockey: Ramandeep Singh; Table tennis: Poulami Ghatak; Aquatics: Supriyo Mondal; Athletics: Asha Roy; Volleyball: Anusri Ghosh; Kabaddi: Ajijul Mondal; Badminton: Rituparna Das; Tennis: Shivika Burman; Chess: Diptayan Ghosh.

Special felicitation:

Legendary Olympians: Keshav Dutt and Leslie Claudius, Jhulan Goswami (Padma Shri), Shabbir Ali (Dhyanchand), Dr Kuntal Roy (Dronacharya), Sunil Chhetri and Rahul Banerjee (both Arjuna) and Salil Dey (former sports journalist from Amrita Bazar Patrika). (PTI)