Anurag Thakur is also the MP of Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh © IANS
Anurag Thakur is also the MP of Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh © IANS

Anurag Thakur has filed his nomination papers for the upcoming Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) elections. Thakur is the current Secretary of the BCCI and also a Member of Parliament (MP) from the ruling party BJP. According to earlier reports, he was all set to be elected the BCCI President unopposed. Shahsank Manohar was the BCCI President earlier, but he stepped down in order to become the ICC Chairman. Also present during his nomination filing were former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly and Ratnakar Shetty, who is a BCCI office bearer. The BCCI will name their new President on May 22. READ: Thakur set to be elected BCCI president

The 41-year-old will be taking over the reins of the embattled Board in rather tough times as the BCCI is facing heat from the Supreme Court to implement the Justice R M Lodha Committee’s recommendations for sweeping reforms.Manohar’s exit from the top post barely seven months into his tenure has necessitated the election of the new chief of the world’s richest and most powerful cricket body. READ: Election of new BCCI President on May 22

He was elected as ICC’s first independent chairman on May 12. Once Thakur is elected unopposed, it would be his prerogative to pick his replacement for the Secretary’s position. According to sources, Maharashtra Cricket Association chief and business magnate Ajay Shirke is the top contender for the post.

Shirke, however, has made it clear that he will not “stand in a queue” to get a post in the Board. ”…I have never put myself in contention for any top job within the BCCI nor do I have any goals of getting any posts. My name may be doing the rounds as you say, and it might look to many that I am myself pushing my name in the media, which I have never done,” he had stated The SGM will be followed by the working committee meeting of the Board. ”Agenda for the meeting is a normal one,” sources said.

(With inputs from PTI)