SYDNEY: India are on the brink of registering their maiden series win on Australian soil as both teams lock horns when the fourth and final Test gets underway at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Thursday. India, leading the series 2-1 after a thumping win in the Boxing Day Test at Melbourne, are left favourites despite selection issues which may force India to gamble with their line-up.

Ravichandran Ashwin s availability will be decided at toss time after the premier off-spinner is facing a race against time to recover from an abdominal injury.

ALSO READ: Despite lndia’s latest eye-raising call, R Ashwin deserves time to prove fitness

Australia have hosted India since 1947-48, and barring three occasions in 1980-81, 1985-86 and 2003-04 which were drawn the visitors have lost the Test series on seven occasions 1967-68, 1977-78, 1991-92, 1999-2000, 2007-08, 2011-12, 2014-15.

Virat Kohli, thus, is in a unique position as the only Indian captain to go into the final Test on the Australian soil with the cushion of a series lead.

(With inputs from PTI)