Tushar Deshpande claimed five for 23 in his nine overs for Mumbai.
Tushar Deshpande claimed five for 23 in his nine overs for Mumbai.

Bihar had won hearts after topping the Plate group to enter the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 quarter-finals on domestic return after 18 years but were no match against traditional warhorses Mumbai in the first quarter-final which Mumbai won comfortably by nine wickets at the Just Cricket Academy Ground in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Even without Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer and Shardul Thakur,who have been involved with the national team or the Board President’s XI side, Bihar failed to derail Mumbai, who remained unbeaten and topped Group A.

For this quarter-final, Mumbai were reinforced with India batsman Rohit Sharma, who led the Indian team to the Asia Cup title last month. However, Rohit was hardly tested in the low-scoring encounter that was a cakewalk for Mumbai.

Put into bat, Bihar were skittled out for 69 in 28.2 overs with pacer Tushar Deshpande being the wrecker-in-chief with five for 23 in his nine overs. Left-arm spinner Shams Mulani claimed three for 18. As many as seven Bihar batsmen registered single-digit scores. MD Rahmatullah, who had scored an unbeaten 156 in the group stages against Sikkim, top scored with just 18 runs.

In reply, Mumbai chased down their target in 12.3 overs with Rohit unbeaten on 33 and wicketkeeper-batsman Aditya Tare on 7. Opener Akhil Herwadkar was the only casualty Mumbai suffered during their run chase. Herwadkar was caught behind off Ashutosh Aman for 24.

Brief scores: Mumbai 71/1 in 12.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 33) beat Bihar 69 all out in 28.2 overs (Tushar Deshpande 5/23, Shams Mulani 3/18) by nine wickets