A round-up of the Elite B matches in round ten of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy

Kerala notched up their third win in seven matches with a one-run win over Uttar Pradesh at the Palam B Stadium, New Delhi in round ten of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19.

Riding on Vasudevan Jagadeesh s 82 and Salman Nazir s 43, Kerala managed to post 228 before Suresh Raina s 66 had UP on course for a win. But the lower-order failed to consolidate on Raina s knock and faltered. UP lost their last seven wickets for just 75 runs.

After being put in to bat, Kerala had a decent start with openers Vishnu Vinod and Jalaj Saxena adding 50 runs for the opening wicket before UP struck back with four wickets for just 28 runs.

Jagadeesh and Nazir then got together for a stand of 94 runs for the fifth wicket to stabilise Kerala. But they were undone by four run-outs in the innings, stuttering to 228. Off spinner Saurabh Kumar picked 3 for 31 for UP.

In reply, UP were led by opener Samarth Singh who made 42 but Kerala chipped away with regular strikes. Raina kept UP in the hunt with a 76-run stand with Aksdeep Nath (21) and then combined for a partnership of 51 with Rinku Singh (33). However, run out of Raina, by Nazir, derailed UP.

Rinku fought on and took UP close to Kerala s total before he got out with UP nine down for 221. Six runs later, Kerala sealed the close contest when Yash Dayal was caught for three.

Brief Scores: Kerala 228 (Vasudevan Jagadeesh 82, Salman Nazir 43; Saurabh Kumar 3/31) beat Uttar Pradesh 227 (Suresh Raina 66, Rinku Singh 33; Jalaj Saxena 2/31) by one run

Odisha stun Saurashtra

A disciplined bowling show allowed Odisha to defend a total of 197 against Saurashtra to win the match by 52 runs at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Jaydev Unadkat picked up 3/39, aided by Yuvraj Chudasama s two wickets for 20 in 7.2 overs, to keep Odisha under 200. But Saurashtra were even worse with the bat, getting bowled out for 145 inside 39 overs with Govinda Poddar finishing with 3/33.

That wasn t the first time Poddar made an impact. Reduced to 11/2, he and Shantanu Mishra batted to put 57 runs for the third wicket, after which Bipal Samantray and Abhishek Raut added 91 runs for the fifth-wicket stand. Resistance was expected from the lower order but the combined effort of Unadkat, DA Jadeja and Yuvraj was a tad tough for Odisha to overcome and they lost their last seven wickets for 32 runs.

In reply, Saurashtra lost Robin Uthappa early after which only Sheldon Jackson and A Vasavada put up substantial scored of 40 and 35. The stage was set for Poddar and Pappu Roy to take over, which they did. After the first three batsmen put on 71, the next seven accounted for just 74 more.

Brief Score: Odisha 197 all out (Biplab Samantray 62; Jaydev Unadkat 3/39) beat Saurashtra 145 all out (Sheldon Jackson 40; Govinda Poddar 3/33) by 52 runs.

Nitish Rana hundred powers Delhi

Delhi continued to maintain their stronghold at the top of the points tally in Elite B with their fifth win in seven matches. At the Palam A Ground, Delhi put on 284/8 and defended the total by bundling out Madhya Pradesh for 209, thus claiming a 75-run win.

The foundation of Delhi s win was set up by the batsmen led by Nitish Rana who scored 107 off 98 balls after Unmukt Chand (41), Gautam Gambhir (41) and Dhruv Shorey (67) had provided Delhi with a good start.

However, MP did manage to come back in the death overs with Mihir Hirwani claiming three wickets as Delhi slumped from a formidable position of 244/3 to 284/8.

In reply, off spinner Lalit Yadav, playing his seventh List A match, ran through MP s top order claiming three of the first five wickets to fall. At one stage, MP were reeling at 57/4 before Anshul Tripathi (36) and Venkatesh Iyer (53) arrested the slide. However, part-timers Rana and Shorey picked Tripathi and Iyer, respectively, to dent MP. Saransh Jain made 47 but was not enough as MP were all out for 209.

Brief Scores: Delhi 284/8 (Nitish Rana 107; Dhruv Shorey 67; Mihir Hirwani 4/49) beat Madhya Pradesh Venkatesh Iyer 53, Saransh Jain 47; LAlit Yadav 5/25) by 75 runs