A round of up of the Plate matches in Round 11 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19
A round of up of the Plate matches in Round 11 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19

A round of up of the Plate matches in Round 11 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19

Nagaland registered an emphatic eight-wicket win over Mizoram, chasing down 101 runs inside 13 overs. The Mizoram batting was all over the place with only Taruvar Kohli scoring 33 off 70 balls, after which Nitesh scored an unbeaten 49 to seal the win and fetch Nagaland their fifth win of the season.

For Nagaland, Imliwati Lemtur and Inakato shared six wickets for 32 runs to rip through Mizoram s batting line-up with only C Lalringsanga and S Zorinliana being the other two batsmen to enter double digits. Mizoram were dismissed for 100 in 42.12 overs, after which Mizoram in chase lost R Jonathan early. Paras played a eight-ball cameo in which he struck two fours and a six to score 26. After he was dismissed by Zorinliana, Nitesh took over and an unbeaten 49 off 35 balls with eight fours and a six to take his side over the line.

Brief score: Nagaland 102/2 (Nitesh 49*) beat Mizoram 100 all out (Taruvar Kohli 33; Inakato 3/8) by eight wickets.

Uttarakhand s Karna veer Kaushal became the first batsman to register a double century in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Kaushal s double ton took 132 deliveries to come, against Sikkim, in just his seventh List-A game as Uttarakhand finished their innings at 366/2. Fellow opener Vineet Saxena also helping himself to a century.

Kaushal and Saxena added 296 runs for the opening wicket, which is another record. They surpassed the 277-mark that Shikhar Dhawan and Aakash Chopra had put on for Delhi against Punjab in 2007-08.

In reply, Sikkim were 42 for 4 before Lee Yong Lepcha (65) and PB limboo (51) combined for a stand of 81 runs for the fifth wicket. Sikkim eventually ended up with 167 for 6 in their 50 overs losing the match by 199 runs

Brief Scores: Uttarkhand 366/2 (Karanveer Kaushal 202, Vineet Saxena 100; M Bhutia 2/82) beat Sikkim 167/6 (Lee Yong Lepcha 65, PB Limboo 51; Deepak Dhapola 3/19) by 199 runs

At Moti Bagh Stadium, MAnipur s Yashapal Singh s yet another big knock went in vain as Meghalaya beat Manipur by 68 runs.

After being put in to bat, Meghalaya, led by Puneet Bisht (58) and Yogesh Nagar (67), made 238 for five in their 50 overs. Opener B Passah contributed with 37 while Gurinder Singh made 36 down the order.

In reply, Yashpal scored the bulk of Manipur s runs with an unbeaten 107 off 108 deliveries with no other Manipur batsman managing to go past the single-digit mark. For Meghalaya, Lakhan Singh took 3 for 24.

Brief Scores: Meghalaya 238/5 (Yogesh Nagar 67*, Puneet Bisht 58; Jitender 3/29) beat Manipur 170 (Yashpal Singh 106*; Lakhan Singh 3/24) by 68 runs