Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19, Elite Group C wrap: Haryana beat Tamil Nadu to secure knockouts berth

A round-up of the Elite Group C matches in round 14 of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy

At the IIT Chemplast Ground, Haryana beat Tamil Nadu by 77 runs to draw level with Group C leaders Jharkhand on 28 points to confirm their place – and Jharkhand’s – in the knockouts. None of the teams left can get to 28 points, with Tamil Nadu stuck on 20 and Services on 22 after losing to Rajasthan today.

Haryana’s sixth win of the tournament was set up by a stunning partnership between Himanshu Rana, who made an unbeaten 89 off 76 balls, and Rahul Tewatia with 91 not out from 51 balls to take them to 310/5 in 50 overs. Tewatia’s rip-roaring innings featured eight fours and five sixes and dominated an unbroken stand of 151 with Rana in 15.4 overs. Rana was joined by Tewatia at 159/4 in the 35th over and the pair put the match out of Tamil Nadu’s reach with a big partnership.

Chasing 311, Tamil Nadu lost regular wickets to stumble to 233/9 in 50 overs. Jayant Yadav (2/36), Amit Mishra (2/40) and Tewatia (2/27) struck telling blows to stem the chase.

Haryana 310/5 in 50 overs (Tewatia 91*, Rana 89*) beat Tamil Nadu 233/9 in 50 overs by 77 runs

Rajasthan won their second match of the competition, chasing a target of 140 to beat Services by seven wickets at the SSN College Ground in Chennai. Five wickets to Rahul Chahar led the way for Rajasthan as they limited Services to 139 in 41.1 overs, and the chase was driven by the wicketkeeper-batsman Manender Singh who made 83 not out off 114 balls.

Chahar’s strikes were the trigger for a dramatic collapse from 103/3 to 129/9. His second wicket was that of Nakul Sharma for 0 followed by Services captain Rajat Paliwal and Mumtaz Qadir in his next over. The fifth came when Diwesh Pathana departed for 0 in the 38th over.

Rajasthan’s chase started with the loss of AV Gautam of 1 and then Abhijeet Tomar for 16, but Manender Singh and Salman Khan (23) put on 69 to steady the innings.

Rajasthan 140/3 in 43 overs (Manender Singh 83*) beat Services 139 in 41.1 overs (Rahul Chahar 5/29) by seven wickets 

Elsewhere in Chennai, Assam secured their first win of the tournament with a successful chase of 210 to down Tripura. A pair of eighties to the opener Riyan Parag (82 off 81 balls) and No 3 Rishav Das (87* off 122) formed the basis of that chase, taking the score from 35/1 to 139/2 before Abhishek Thakuri (31*) joined Rishav Das to finish the match.

This was a win set up in the field, unmistakably, with Arup Das (3/25), Abu Nechim (3/35) and Parag (2/37) combining to bowl out Tripura for 209 in 49.1 overs. The opener Bishal Ghosh’s 100 carried Tripura to 209/9 before he was bowled by Arup Das off the final ball of the penultimate over. Only four others made it to double-digits, with former Gujarat wickeeper Smit Patel and Udiyan Bose getting 33 each.

Assam 211/2 in 44.1 overs (Rishav Das 87*, Parag 82) beat Tripura 209 in 49.1 overs (Ghosh 100, Arup Das 3/25) by eight wickets