Shivam Mavi Uttar Pradesh Saurashtra Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19
Shivam Mavi © AFP (file photo)

Shivam Mavi took a hat-trick at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, in an Elite B group match of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19. Playing for Uttar Pradesh against Saurashtra, Mavi had Chirag Jani caught by namesake Shivam Chaudhary and Arpit Vasavada caught by Rinku Singh before bowling Jaydev Unadkat with the second, third, and fourth ball of his final over, the 50th of the match. Mavi finished with 5 for 73 from his 10 overs as Saurashtra piled up 303 for 9.

This was Mavi’s second List A match, after a wicketless appearance for India A against South Africa A at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru last month.

Mavi became the eighth bowler to take a hat-trick in the history of Vijay Hazare Trophy (this excludes the four hat-tricks in Ranji Trophy One-Day, as India’s inter-state 50-over tournament was previously known as). The list includes Kamlesh Nagarkoti, co-star of Mavi in the India Under-19 side that lifted the Under-19 World Cup earlier this year in New Zealand. Here is the complete list of hat-tricks on Indian soil:

List A hat-tricks on Indian soil
Bowler Team Against Venue Season Series/tournament  
Chetan Sharma India New Zealand Nagpur 1987-88 World Cup ODI
Kapil Dev India Sri Lanka Kolkata (Eden Gardens) 1990-91 Asia Cup ODI
Ashish Winston Zaidi Uttar Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Kanpur (Modi Stadium) 1996-97 Ranji Trophy One-Day
Tribhowan Pandey Services Jammu and Kashmir Delhi (Palam A) 1997-98 Ranji Trophy One-Day
JP Yadav Madhya Pradesh Bengal Kolkata (Eden Gardens) 1998-99 Willis Trophy
Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan Tamil Nadu Kerala Chennai (Guru Nanak College) 2003-04 Ranji Trophy One-Day
Sridharan Sriram Tamil Nadu Bengal Mumbai (Brabourne) 2004-05 Ranji Trophy One-Day
Jerome Taylor West Indies Australia Mumbai (Brabourne) 2006-07 Champions Trophy ODI
Murali Kartik Railways Rajasthan Indore 2009-10 Vijay Hazare Trophy  
Kemar Roach West Indies Netherlands Delhi (Kotla) 2010-11 World Cup ODI
Shrikant Mundhe Maharashtra Baroda Rajkot 2013-14 Vijay Hazare Trophy  
Domnic Joseph Maharashtra Mumbai Ahmedabad 2014-15 Vijay Hazare Trophy  
Amit Mishra Haryana Jammu and Kashmir Alur 2015-16 Vijay Hazare Trophy  
Dhawal Kulkarni India B India A Visakhapatnam 2016-17 Deodhar Trophy
Mohammad Mudhasir Jammu and Kashmir Chhattisgarh Kolkata (JU 2nd Campus) 2016-17 Vijay Hazare Trophy
Kamlesh Nagarkoti Rajasthan Gujarat Chennai (Chepauk) 2016-17 Vijay Hazare Trophy
Parvez Rasool Jammu and Kashmir Saurashtra Kalyani 2016-17 Vijay Hazare Trophy
Kuldeep Yadav India Australia Kolkata (Eden Gardens) 2017-18 Bilateral international ODI
Shivam Mavi Uttar Pradesh Saurashtra Delhi (Kotla) 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy

Note: Chetan Sharma, Kapil Dev, Jerome Taylor, Kemar Roach, and Kuldeep Yadav are the only ones to do in international matches. Taylor and Roach are the only non-Indians on the list.