Vijay Hazare Trophy, Elite Group A round-up: Himachal, Maharashtra continue to go strong
A round-up of Group A matches in round seven of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

A round-up of Group A matches in round seven of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Baroda stroll to seven-wicket win over Karnataka

A sublime century from Kedar Devdhar and Deepak Hooda’s unbeaten century allowed Baroda to register a comfortable seven-wicket win over domestic heavyweights Karnataka in Round 7 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament. Opening batsman Ravikumar Samarth scored a century but his effort was outdone by Atith Sheth, who picked up 4/42 and choked the batting might of Karnataka. Mayank Agarwal and Karun Nair were the only other notable contributors with 34 and 37 as Karnataka were bowled out for 237.

In reply, Devdhar, coming off scores of 39 and 46, converted his start and struck a fourth List-A century. Abhimanyu Mithun and Krishnappa Gowtham returned expensive figures as the 28-year-old batsmen took full toll of the bowlers. Karnataka broke the opening stand between Devdhar and Waghmore followed by the wicket of Krunal Pandya. However, Devdhar kept the chase, and even with rain interrupting, chased down the revised target of 230 with ease.

Brief scores: Karnataka 237 all-out in 50 overs (Ravikumar Samarth 102, Atit Sheth 4-42, Babashafi Pathan 2-38) lost to Baroda 230/3 in 43.3 overs (Kedar Devdhar 123, Deepak Hooda 62 not out; Prasidh Krishna 1-44) by seven wickets (VJD method).

Bains career-best downs Vidarbha

Himachal continued their fine run in the Vijay Hazare trophy by gunning down a tough target of 298 set by Vidarbha by four wickets. Fail Fazal’s strokeful 91 and a brilliant 148 from Atharva Taide was the spine of Vidarbha’s 297, but lack of support from the other batsmen meant that they were about 50 runs short. Himachal’s VK Galetiya and AS Jamwal picked up two wickets each.

Himachal’s response began on a not so promising note with AS Thakare removing Prashant Chopra early. But then, Priyanshu Khanduri and Bains added 162 runs for the second wicket. Coming off consecutive ducks against Goa and Railways, Bains reached his maiden List-A century, while Khanduri recorded his second fifty. Nikhil Gangta, SL Verma and Rishi Dhawan recorded single-digit scored but Bains ensured he was there till the end to see his side through.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 297/7 in 50 overs (Atharva Taide 148 not out, Faiz Fazal 91; Vinay Galetiya 2-51) lost to Himachal Pradesh 298/6 in 47.5 overs (Ankush Bains 173 not out, Priyanshu Khanduri 63; Akshay Wakhare 2-60) by four wickets.

Maharashtra steamroll Railways by seven wickets

Railways succumbed to their fourth straight loss in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as an all-round Maharashtra registered a smooth seven wicket win over them. Railways’ top order crumbled against Maharashtra’s bowling, as barring Mrunal Devdhar’s 64, no other batsman in the top five could even enter double digits. Railways were left reeling at 4/23, including the wicket of opener Karan Sharma and Saurabh Wakaskar, and it was only because of some resistance from their lower order that Railways managed 180.

Prashant Awasthi, Ashish Yadav and Manish Rao contributed for 83 runs to give Railways something to defend. For Maharashtra, Anupam Sanklecha, Samad Fallah, Satyajeet Bachhav and Shamshuzama Kazi, who picked up two wickets each.

The batsmen were in control from ball one and the opening pair of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Jey Pande put on 88 runs. Avinash Yadav removed Pande to provide the breakthrough before Gaikwad got together with Mandar Bhandari. Both batsmen departed but by the time it happened, Maharashtra were within striking distance. Ankit Bawane and Kazi got Maharashtra home with 47 balls remaining.

Brief scores: Railways 180 all-out in 48.2 overs (Mrunal Devdhar 64; Anupam Sanklecha 2-16) lost to Maharashtra 186/3 in 41.2 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 84, Jay Pande 38; Avinash Yadav 2-39) by seven wickets.