Robin Uthappa
Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey took full toll of the Power-Play overs in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2014 against Punjab in Ahmedabad © Getty images (File photo)

Nov 25, 2014

Karnataka are 77 for no loss in 12 overs against Punjab in the Final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy in Ahmedabad.

Karnataka openers Robin Uthappa and Mayank Agarwal made a strong beginning putting the Punjab bowlers to the sword in the Power-Play overs. Both openers pierced the in-field with great regularity, taking full advantage of the field restrictions and loose bowling dished out by the Punjab bowlers. Punjab have expectedly pushed the field back since the conclusion of the 10th over, bowling a foot outside the off stump to a packed off-side field in an attempt to stem the flow of runs. With the luxury of the start that Karnataka have got, they can afford a few quiet overs as long as they keep the singles coming.