PCB CEO Wasim Khan Khan made it clear that playing in the UAE was no longer an option, considering the huge expense it involves. ©AFP

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) CEO Wasim Khan on Tuesday said that the board has not paid any extra money to Sri Lanka, who will be touring Pakistan for three One-day internationals and three T20Is.

Although the security concerns saw some of the big Sri Lankan stars including Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews and Dimuth Karunaratne opting out of the tour, Sri Lankan side will be traveling to Pakistan for the series.

“We have decided that we will play our matches in Pakistan,” Khan was quoted as saying by Geo.tv.


“Pakistan is safe and all security reports have suggested that security risks are manageable in the country,” added Khan.

Following the attack on the Sri Lankan team in Lahore in 2009, majority of the international sides have refused to play in Pakistan, forcing the PCB to play their home matches in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

ALSO READ: Shahid Afridi blames ‘IPL guys’ for Sri Lankan players’ reluctance to tour Pakistan

However, Khan made it clear that playing in the UAE was no longer an option, considering the huge expense it involves.

“It costs us a lot of money hosting there. Security is fine in Pakistan, this is now our home venue. Bilateral series against Sri Lanka is important, and let me tell you that we are not paying them any extra money. They’re coming here for 13 days. Things are going in right direction for us,” Khan said.

ALSO READ: Players unwilling to tour Pakistan should be banned from PSL: Saeed Ajmal

Khan also had a message for the Pakistan side, telling them not to take the depleted Sri Lankan team lightly.

“Our focus was to get Sri Lanka here and which we have done successfully. The players who are coming to Pakistan have a point to prove, we must not underestimate the players who are coming. It is going to be a highly competitive series,” Khan concluded.

Match schedule:

1st ODI — Karachi, September 27

2nd ODI — Karachi, September 29

3rd ODI — Karachi, October 2

1st T20 — Lahore, October 5

2nd T20 — Lahore, October 7

3rd T20 — Lahore, October 9