West Indies women ODI squad announced for home series againt England

The squad includes wicketkeeper Kycia Knight © Getty Images

Port of Spain: Oct 29, 2013

The West Indies women’s cricket team announced a 13-member squad for their three match One-Day International (ODI) series against England beginning at West Indies.

The squad includes wicketkeeper Kycia Knight, openers Natasha McLean and June Ogle, and fast bowler Subrina Munroe for the matches at Queen’s Park Oval.

The West Indies women defeated England Saturday to win a tri-nation series also involving New Zealand at Kensington Oval after defeating New Zealand in an ODI series in Jamaica.

“We’re heading over to Trinidad and we want to continue the winning momentum. We played well to beat New Zealand in Jamaica in the ODIs at Sabina Park,” said captain Merissa Aguilleira.

“We were on top of our game to beat New Zealand and England in the T20s in Barbados and we will look to do the same at Queen’s Park Oval. The selectors have recalled a few players to the squad and they will fit in well. We will look to maintain our excellent record on home turf.”

The series commences Tuesday with the second and third ODIs between Friday and Sunday.

The West Indies squad: Merissa Aguilleira (c), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight (wk), Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, June Ogle, Shaquana Quintyne, Tremayne Smartt and Stafanie Taylor.