Vanitha VR congratulates Western Railways (WR) team on reaching the final Photo Courtesy: Women's Pro Cricket League Facebook Page
Vanitha VR congratulates Western Railways (WR) team on reaching the final Photo Courtesy: Women’s Pro Cricket League Facebook Page

The Women s Pro Cricket League (WPCL), featuring Vanitha VR, Akanksha Kohli, K Rakshitha, C Prathyusha, Sanjana Batni and Sahana Pawar, has reached the grand finale. The top two teams Western Railways (WR) and South Central Railways (SCR) have not put a foot wrong so far. They will now fight it out in the final on Friday, June 16. While WR won by 9 wickets, SCR triumphed by 78 runs. The final will feature India Women international players like Anuja Patil, Reema Malhotra, Swagathika Rath, Gouher Sultana, Sulakshana Naik, Sravanthi Naidu, R Kalpana, Soni Yadav, Anagha Deshpande and Seema Pujare among others. Women s Pro Cricket League: Vanitha VR relishes pink-ball cricket experience

Winning the toss, NFR were bundled cheaply for 59 in 19.1 overs at SJCE Ground. Kavita Patil and Anita Lodhi s combined figures of 7 for 14 set the tone for WR. Barring Sapna Choudary s 13 and Deboshree Kanwar s 17, the other players succumbed to Kavita and Anita. In response, WR lost their momentum after adding 22 runs on board losing Anagha for 3. However, Anita and Anuja s unbeaten 41-run stand for third wicket finished the task for WR with 6.5 overs to spare. Deboshree Kanwar bagged the sole wicket.

In the second game, SCR opted to bat and posted a target of 123 the third-highest of the tournament at Gangothri Glades. Swagathika hit a six before she fell in the second over for 15. Mamtha and T Shani continued the momentum adding 41-run stand for the third wicket. After Mamtha and Shani were picked in succession, Sravanthi and Arundhathi Reddy took the charge. They added 47 runs, before falling for consecutive deliveries at 22 and 25 respectively. For Kerala, Sanjana S and Mrudhula VS were the pick amongst the bowlers.

Apart from Akshaya s 16 and Jilu George s 10 none of the other Kerala players reached the double-digit score chasing 124. Asha Joy, the tournament s highest wicket-taker, took 2 for 10 to complete tally of 10 wickets in the league so far. Meanwhile, Kavya VM ended with figures of 3 for 4.

Brief scores:

NFR 59 in 19.1 overs (Sapna Choudary 13, Deboshree Kanwar 17; Kavita Patil 3 for 4, Anita Lodhi 4 for 10) lost to Western Railways 63 for 1 in 13.1 overs (Anita Lodhi 29*, Anuja Patil 26*; Deboshree Kanwar 1 for 11) by 9 wickets.

South Central Railways 123 for 7 in 20 overs (Sravanthi Naidu 22, Arundhathi Reddy 25; Mrudhula VS 2 for 33, Sanjana S 3 for 16) beat Kerala 45 in 15.2 overs (Akshaya 16, Jilu George 10; Kavya VM 3 for 4, Asha Joy 2 for 10) by 78 runs.