WICB announce West Indies A squads for tour of India

Kieran Powell will lead the West Indies A side for the one-day and T20 matches against India A © Getty Images

St John’s (Antigua): Aug 28, 2013

The West Indies Cricket Board has announced ‘A’ team squads to tour India next month for Tests, one-dayers and Twenty20 matches.

Kirk Edwards will lead the side in the three Tests against India A and Kieran Powell will captain the side in the three one-day and one T20 matches that will precede the Tests, a WICB statement said on Monday.

Edwards will be leading the side again, following a home series against Sri Lanka A in June this year, when West Indies A drew a two-Test series before clinching a three-match one-day series 2-1 and a two-match T20 series 1-0.

“It’s a great honour to captain the West Indies at any level and I’m looking forward to the trip to India,” Edwards said.

“In addition to the honour there is great responsibility and, as one of the most experienced members of the squad, I know I will have a very important leadership role to perform on and off the field.”

Powell is seeking to regain his place in the senior West Indies side after injury forced him to miss the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, the One-Day International (ODI) tri-series with India and Sri Lanka, and the home series against Pakistan before making his return in the just-ended Twenty20 Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

“This upcoming tour of India will be a challenging one, but as players we know it is a great opportunity to represent the West Indies and look to do well on the international stage,” said the left-handed opener.

“I played in India before and it’s a great place for cricket with the crowds, the atmosphere and the level of competition. We anticipate a good, competitive series.”

West Indies A , led by Veerasammy Permaul, prevailed over India A in a home series in June last year, when they won a three-Test series 2-1 and followed up with 1-1 drawn series in the one-day and T20 formats.

Test squad: Kirk Edwards (c), Kieran Powell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Jahmar Hamilton, Delorn Johnson, Leon Johnson, Nikita Miller, Veerasammy Permaul, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton.

One-day and Twenty20 squad: Kieran Powell (c), Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Nkrumah Bonner, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Leon Johnson, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Devon Thomas.