Zimbabwe win toss, elect to field against Pakistan in 1st T20

Skipper Brendan Taylor will hav to inspire his team to keep the focus on cricket after all the pay dispute controversy © AFP

Aug 23, 2013

Zimbabwean skipper Brendan Taylor has won the toss and elected to field in the first T20 match at Harare on Friday.

The month-long tour will see the two sides face off in two Twenty20 matches, three One-Day Internationals (ODI) and two Tests, but Zimbabwe’s preparations were thrown into disarray last week when the players refused to train after negotiations over unpaid salaries and future contracts broke down.


Zimbabwe: Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Timycen Maruma, Brendan Taylor (c&wk), Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbara, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya, Tendai Chetara. Shingi Masakadza.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (c), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Amin, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Anwar Ali, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Irfan.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first Twenty20 match between Zimbabwe and Pakistan here

Zimbabwe vs Pakistan — Live on Ten Cricket