The Allan Border Medal (named after former Australian captain Allan Border) was initiated in 2000 is widely acknowledged as the most prestigious award in Australian cricket.

 The winners are decided based on the votes from cricketers, umpires and journalist from past season. Votes are cast after each match and summed up at the end of the season.

 The awards started with the Test Cricketer of the Year, ODI (One-Day International) Cricketer of the Year, Young Cricketer of the Year (named after Don Bradman), State Cricketer of the Year and finally the Allan Border medal was awarded to the best cricketer of the year. Two years since the awards inception, Belinda Clark Award for the Female International Cricketer of the Year was introduced and in 2011, the award for the T20I Cricketer of the Year was started.

Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke have won the Allan Border Medal for a record four times. The Don Bradman Award was won by Brett Lee in the inaugural year and he later won the Allan Border Medal in 2008.

This year, however it was a clean sweep by Steve Smith, as he went on to win the Test Cricket of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and also received the Allan Border Medal.

Following is the list of previous winners of the prestigious awards.


Allan-Border-Night-Winners-Since-Inception (1)