The sixth edition of the slam-bang tournament will be played at eight different venues across India, which are Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and Delhi. Mumbai and Delhi will host the semi-finals of the tournament whereas the final will be played at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Teams are divided into two groups with each side containing four teams and the qualifying teams from the qualifying groups will join the groups making it five a side. The qualifiers from each group will accompany Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and India in the Super 10 stage. The top two sides from both the Super 10 Groups will then qualify for the semi-finals.

Qualifier (the winner of each group advances to Super 10)

Group A – Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman

Group B – Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan


Super 10 groups

Super 10 Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and qualifier of group B

Super 10 Group 2 – India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and qualifier of group A

Sri Lanka will enter the competition as defending champions and will be a tough contender once again as the matches are being played in subcontinent conditions. India will take on New Zealand on March 15 which will be rightly followed by the electrifying clash between India and Pakistan on March 19 at Dharamsala. Looking at the groups, one can draw a conclusion that India have pretty tough oppositions to take on. Still with the matches being played in the Indian conditions, the hosts stand a fair chance and an upper hand to conquer the trophy once again. The five previous editions have witnessed five different winners.

ICC World T20 2016 Schedule: All Match Fixtures and Complete Time Table

Designed by Srushti Takale
Designed by Srushti Takale