India drew first blood in the three-match Twenty20 series when they beat Australia by 37 runs at the Adelaide Oval on Tuesday. After Australian captain Aaron Finch won the toss and sent the visitors in to bat on both countries’ national day, the Indians smashed their way to 188 for three thanks to a brilliant 90 not out from Virat Kohli. The Australians started their run chase full of purpose, at one stage scoring at 11 runs an over. But once they lost David Warner (17), Aaron Finch (44) and Steven Smith (21) they never looked like chasing down the total. Indian spinners Ravi Ashwin (2-28) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-21) proved the difference between the two teams as the Australian batsmen struggled to keep up the pace, AFP reported.  CRICKET SCORECARD: India vs Australia 2015-16, 1st T20I at Adelaide

After the impressive paceman Jasprit Bumrah had Warner caught at mid-on, Smith and Finch scored freely until Jadeja had Smith caught at mid-off by Kohli. Ashwin then trapped Finch leg before and when Jadeja dismissed newcomer Travis Head the same way in the next over, Australia were 93-4. Shane Watson (12) and Chris Lynn (17) both fell trying to lift the scoring rate and the remaining batsmen put up little resistance. Virat Kohli calls India vs Australia 2015-16, 1st T20I historic day for both countries; wishes Happy Republic Day, Australia Day

Rohit Sharma got the visitors away to a lightning start, hitting 31 from 20 balls before he mistimed a pull shot off Watson and was caught at mid-on by James Faulkner. Watson had the other opener Shikhar Dhawan (5) caught by wicketkeeper Matthew Wade two balls later to leave the Indians on 41 for two. But Kohli and Raina were untroubled until Raina was bowled by Faulkner in the final over. Dhoni came to the crease and hit a six and a four from his first two balls to take India to what proved a winning total.