IPL 2016: Orange Cap holders in the history of the tournament

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a grand platform for budding cricketers and has unearthed enormous talents since its inception. The tournament has been heavily dominated by the batsmen and runs have been scored massively in the tournament so far. An Orange Cap is awarded to the highest run-scorer and ninth edition of the IPL saw Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli scripting enormous records with his elegant stroke play and claiming the award. READ MORE: IPL 2016: Notable players who had little or nothing to do in season 9

Kohli smashed 973 runs in this single edition and plundered four tons, a feat which was yet to be achieved. Australian southpaw Shaun Marsh won the first Orange Cap in the inaugural edition after which Matthew Hayden, Sachin Tendulkar followed. Chris Gayle is the only cricketer till date to have claimed the prestigious cap on couple of occasions which he did consecutively in 2011 and 2012. Michael Hussey and Robin Uthappa snatched it in 2013 and 2014 respectively. David Warner have had a good run in the recent times as he donned the Orange Cap in 2015 and finished this season on a high with second on this lost just after Kohli.  READ MORE: IPL 2016: Most memorable moments, Part I

Take a brief look at their records and the Orange Cap holders from different season here: