The inaugural Pakistan Super League (PSL), that is scheduled to be played between February 4 and 23 next year, recently had its two-day player draft where the five franchises picked up their squads. The league, which happens to be Pakistan’s premier domestic tournament, will be played in Dubai and Sharjah. PSL draft: Five franchises pick nine players each on Day 1; Shahid Afridi, Kevin Pietersen, Chris Gayle top picks

On Day One of the draft, heavyweights like Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik, England outcast Kevin Pietersen, ‘Universe boss’ Chris Gayle and retired Australian all-rounder Shane Watson were picked by the five franchises as their iconic players. Afridi went to Peshawar Zalmi, Malik to Karachi Kings, Pietersen to Quetta Gladiators, Gayle to Lahore Qalandars and Watson to Islamabad United.

A total of nine players were picked on Day One, notable ones of which were Andre Russell, Pakistan’s Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq, Brad Haddin (Islamabad United); Shakib Al Hasan, Lendl Simmons (Karachi Kings); Wahab Riaz, Darren Sammy, Mohammad Hafeez (Peshawar Zalmi); Sarfaraz Ahmed, Jason Holder, Ahmed Shehzad (Quetta Gladiators) and Dwayne Bravo, Yasir Shah, Mustafizur Rahman (Lahore Qalandars). Pakistan’s highest run-getter in Tests and star batsman Younis Khan remained unpicked.

On Day Two, seven more players each were drafted in by the franchises, out of which six were Pakistanis while one player was picked on overseas quota. The final teams had no players from Sri Lanka, New Zealand and India. However, the likes of Kumar Sangakkara (Quetta Gladiators) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (Karachi Kings) were picked among others as supplementary players.*

* — The minimum squad consisting of 16 players could be pushed to 20 with four supplementary players — three local and one overseas. These players may or may not be called-up by their respective teams for the duties during the course of the league.

Designed by Srushti Takale