Pacer Clint McKay was awarded Australia Cricketer of the Year on Monday.

Australian captain Michael Clarke won his fourth Allan Border Medal as the nation's cricketer of the year at a gala ceremony in Melbourne.

Clarke, 31, and his predecessor as captain Ricky Ponting, are the only players to win the medal, considered Australian cricket's most prestigious individual prize, four times.

The Test and one-day skipper won for the second straight year with 198 votes, ahead of joint runners-up Michael Hussey and two-time winner Shane Watson, who each polled 165 votes.

(with inputs from AFP)