After a spirited performance against England last month, West Indies look upbeat to face a tougher opponent in Australia in Dominica on Wednesday. West Indies will have a new look with the omission of veteran Shivnarine Chanderpaul, a decision that generated considerable controversy, with Brian Lara strongly backing his selection. There are a couple of youngsters waiting to take his place, Rajindra Chandrika and Shane Dowrich, both of whom impressed with half-centuries in the warm-up game against the Australians in Antigua. Under new coach Phil Simmons, and seemingly a new direction, the hosts will strive to hold a fresh attitude and test Australia. READ: West Indies vs Australia 1st Test at Dominica, Preview: Inspired West Indies take on Australia in The Frank Worrell Trophy

Australia, since the 2013-14 Ashes, have strung up consistent victories to help them capture the second position in the ICC Test rankings. Their last series was a comfortable 2-0 win against India in a four-match series, following which they won the tri-series and the World Cup at home. Their major reason to be cautious would be the pitches, due to which they haven’t been able to conquer foreign lands like a champion. Their last overseas assignment saw them surrendering meekly to Pakistan in the UAE, for a 2-0 thrashing. They will be without Chris Rogers in the first Test, as the regular opener suffered concussion after being struck on the head in the nets. Fawad Ahmed, the Pakistan-born leg-spinner, is a part of the squad, and could win his first Test cap. Adam Voges, batsman from Western Australia, could replace Rogers. READ: Chris Rogers to miss 1st Test against West Indies due to concussion suffered after getting struck on helmet at nets


West Indies: Jermaine Blackwood, Denesh Ramdin (c &wk), Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajindra Chandrika, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Devendra Bishoo, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Veerasammy Permaul.

Australia: Michael Clarke (c), Mitchell Starc, Brad Haddin (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Steven Smith, Fawad Ahmed, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle. Complete schedule: Australia tour of West Indies, 2015