The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup was launched in Melbourne on Tuesday with the schedule and fixtures being announced for the mega event to be held in Australia and New Zealand.

Defending champions India will take on arch-foes Pakistan in their opening match of the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup to be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

Placed in the relatively easy Group B, India, who won the 2011 event after defeating Sri Lanka in the final in Mumbai, will start their title defence on February 15, according to a report by PTI.

Incidentally, India have never lost to Pakistan in any of their five World Cup clashes so far.