Former cricketers Saba Karim and Nikhil Chopra have congratulated Virat Kohli, who was recommended by the BCCI for the Arjuna award on Tuesday.

The middle-order batsman, who has done well at the international arena so far, is the only nominee from the Board for this category.

According to a report on the Times of India, Indian batting legend Sunil Gavaskar was BCCI's recommendation for the Dhyanchand award which is given for lifetime achievement

Kohli, who won the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award in September 2012 is the only choice given by the BCCI. Kohli scored his maiden Test century in Adelaide in January 2012 and followed it up with good showing in the home series agains New Zealand and was even appointed as vice-captain of the Indian team for the Asia Cup. All these developments have led to his nomination.