India will leave for New Zealand on January 12. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have sprung a couple of new faces in the One-Day International (ODI) team with all-rounder Stuart Binny and pacer Ishwar Pandey being a part.


Tearaway pacer Varun Aaron also makes a comeback after a long spell in the injury table.


India’s One-day squad is all set to leave for the tour of New Zealand, where it will play a five-match series against the hosts from January 19, a week in advance in order to get acclimatised to the weather and pitch conditions there.


“The team (which was picked today) is to leave on January 12,” a Cricket Board source informed PTI.


The first ODI is scheduled at the McLean Park, Napier on January 19 followed by matches on January 22 (Seddon Park, Hamilton), January 25 (Eden Park, Auckland), January 28 (Seddon Park, Hamilton) and January 31 (Westpac Stadium, Wellington).


The Board has also decided to send the Test specialists — Zaheer KhanCheteshwar Pujara and Murali Vijay — who are not a part of the ODI squad a week later, so that even they could get acclimatised to the local conditions ahead of the start of the two-Tests from February 6 at Eden Park, Auckland.

India to leave for New Zealand tour on January 12th