IPL 2019: Highest team totals in the history of IPL

From Gayle's out-of-the-world 175* to Chennai Super Kings batting might, Here's the five highest team totals in the history of the IPL


From Gayle’s out-of-the-world 175* to Chennai Super Kings batting might, Here’s the five highest team totals in the history of the IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore 263/5 vs Pune Warriors India 23 April 2013

‘Gaylestorm’ hit the M Chinnaswamy stadium with the big Jamaican tonking the highest individual score in T20 in 2013 (a record which still stands), with an unbeaten 175-run knock that took just 66 balls in Match 31 of the IPL 2013. He hit Pune Warriors India bowlers for 14 fours and 17 sixes scoring at a strike-rate of 265.15m helping RCB post 263/5. AB de Villiers blasted 31 off just eight balls, to finish with a strike-rate of 387.50. For the Warriors, despite the crazy hitting two bowlers managed an economy of under 7 runs per over with Bhuvneshwar Kumar conceding just 23 in his four overs while Luke Wright gave away 26 in his four and took one wicket. Pune managed only 133/9, losing to Gayle by 42 runs and to RCB by 130 runs

Royal Challengers Bangalore 248/3 vs Gujarat Lions 14 May 2016

This time Chris Gayle got out for just six off 13 balls to Dhawal Kulkarni but India skipper Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers put on a show at Bengaluru with a stand of 231 runs for the second wicket in just 16 overs against Gujarat Lions. Kohli, who scored close 1000 runs in the season with four centuries in a single edition, hit 109 off 55 balls with the help of five fours and eight sixes while de Villiers tonked 129 off 52 balls hitting ten fours and 12 sixes, striking at 248.07. In reply, Gujarat were bundled out for just 104, losing the match by 144 runs. Chris Jordan took 4/11 in his three overs.

Chennai Super Kings 246/5 vs Rajasthan Royals 3 April 2010

Riding on Murali Vijay’s 56-ball 127 Chennai Super Kings amassed 246/5 in IPL 2010 against Rajasthan Royals – then the highest team total in IPL, bettering their own record from the inaugural edition. Matthew Hayden hit 34 off 21 while Albie Morkel blasted 62 off just 34 balls. In reply, Rajasthan Royals came close scoring 223/5, riding on Naman Ojha’s unbeaten 94 off just 55 balls and Shane Watson 25-ball 60. They lost by just 23 runs.

Kolkata Knight Riders 245 6 vs Kings XI Punjab 12 May 2018

Kolkata Knight Riders had a good day in 2018 at Indore with opener Sunil Narine blasting 75 off 36 balls and Dinesh Karthik hammering 50 off just 23 balls to lead KKR to their highest ever team total of 245/6 against Kings XI Punjab. Chris Lynn contributed 27 off 17 while Robin Uthappa made 24 off 17. Andre Russell scored 31 off 14 while Shubman Gill showed his prowess with an unbeaten 16 off 8. Andrew Tye claimed four wickets in his four overs. but gave away 41 runs. In reply, KXIP managed 214/8 with the help of KL Rahul’s 29-ball 66 and Ravichandran Ashwin’s 22-ball 45, but lost by 31 runs.

Chennai Super Kings 240 5 vs Kings XI Punjab 19 April 2008

After Brendon McCullum’s fireworks of 158 in the first match of the inaugural IPL, Michael Hussey hit 116 in the 2nd match off just 54 balls to help Chennai Super Kings post 240/5 against KXIP. Suresh Raina ransacked 31 in just 13 balls while Subramaniam Badrinath scored an unbeaten 31 off 14 balls. In reply, KXIP rode on James Hopes 33-ball 71 and Kumar Sangakkara’s 33-ball 54. but posted only 207/4, losing the match by 33 runs.

trending this week