Champions one year. Erratic the next. That seems to be Mumbai Indians’ performance graph over the last six years. Dating back to 2013, when MI were first crowned champions, they have been crowned winners every alternate season. And the ones they haven’t, MI have left plenty to be desired from a team that boasts some of the biggest names in T20 cricket.

They previously won in 2017, and, well, as per that pattern, finished fifth last year. Of the six matches they won, three came during the fag end of the season, where they were battling to secure a place to the Playoff. In the end though, the irregularities of the first half caught up and MI’s party was spoiled by the already-eliminated Delhi Chargers (formerly Daredevils).