England selector James Whitaker explained the logic behind the Performance Programme squad. England selectors also named a Performance Programme squad (EPS) which has been split into two groups. The batsmen and spinners will make a trip to Sri Lanka while the fast bowlers will travel to Potchefstroom in South Africa. Two of the spinners, Adil Rashid and Stephen Parry, will depart with the main squad to Sri Lanka to help with preparations before linking up with the rest of the EPP squad in the country, AFP reported.

Performance squad for Sri Lanka: Zafar Ansari, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Adam Lees, Adam Lyth, Stephen Parry, Samit Patel, Adil Rashid, Adam Riley, Jason Roy, James Vince, Tom Westley