No Indian cricketer made it to the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test Team of the Year which was announced on Thursday.

The selection panel was chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.

The announcement was made by the ICC Chief Executive, David Richardson, at the media conference to announce the short-lists for the ICC Awards 2012 which are due to be held in Colombo on 15 September 2012. The ICC Awards recognise the best international players of the past 12 months.

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and South Africa's Dale Steyn has earned a place in the ICC Test Team of the Year for the fifth successive year.

It is the third year in a row that South Africa's Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara feature in the side, while England's Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad appear for the second year in a row.

Australia's current captain, Michael Clarke is named as captain of the team.