Getty Images
Getty Images

Former English cricketer Matthew Fleming was a decent all-rounder and a county legend. He was a right-handed batsman and a right-arm medium pacer. Matthew played 11 One-Day Internationals (ODIs) for England but wasn t able to cement his place in the national side. As the trend of naming All-Time XI is in full swing, Matthew also joined the bandwagon and in a video posted by Lord s Cricket Ground on YouTube, he names his All-time XI, with The criteria for selection is players they have played with, against or have been influenced by. There are few surprises in his selection as some big names have been missed out.

Matthew s opening pair hails of one of the most destructive batsmen of all time, which is none other than Matthew Hayden. He has done a commendable job for the Australian side over the years and haunted many bowlers with his manic approach. To accompany him, is former Indian cricketer and a reliable batsman Rahul Dravid. He is known as The Wall for his ability to stick to the ground in case of crisis. At three is Joe Root, and is one of the best current batsmen in the contemporary circuit. West Indies legend Brian Lara will be batting at four and has done a laudable job at that position for the West Indies side. Colin Cowdrey will be leading the side and will render his services at five. At six and the wicketkeeper of the side is Adam Gilchrist, who is well-known for his belligerent batting across formats.

One of the best all-rounders of all time, Sir Ian Botham, is designated to bat at seven. He was a influential cricketer and an inspiration for many. The pace battery hails of former Pakistan pacer Wasim AKram, Curtly Ambrose from West Indies and Botham. It wears a dominant look and can rip apart any batting line up with their menacing pace and swing.

There are to spinners in the side and both are the best the world has ever seen. Leg-spinner Shane Warne and Muttiah Muralitharan will be the tweakers of the side and both have massive records to their name. It s a balance side with some heavy batting, depth in bowling and best spinning options.

Matthew Fleming s All-time XI: Matthew Hayden, Rahul Dravid, Joe Root, Brian Lara, Colin Cowdrey (c), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Ian Botham, Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Curtly Ambrose, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Check Matthew reasons out his All-Time XI here: