The Ashes series in 2009, on the surface, didn’t match the excitement and buzz surrounding the earlier Ashes hosted in England, in 2005. But the contest oscillated from one end to the other and finally ended at 2-1 in favour of the hosts. A review of the series, held in the form of discussions among the commentators of Sky Sports — David Gower, Michael Holding, Shane Warne, Mike Atherton, David Lloyd, Nasser Hussain and Ian Botham — and highlights of all five Tests interspersed in it, runs for more than an hour and a half. The 2005 Ashes was the last series to be telecast on free-to-air television in the UK, before Sky Sports signed a deal with the England Cricket Board (ECB) to host all England cricket in their channel, which could be accessed only by paid subscribers The core team of commentators have remained intact, and are present in the live and exclusive coverage of England’s matches. READ: Ashes 2009: Andrew Flintoff celebrates following his magical spell

The first Test, in Cardiff, was dominated by Australia till the final hour of the match, which saw No. 11 Monty Panesar and No. 10 holding on for 12 overs to get England the draw. The next Test at Lord’s, however, had England winning by 115 runs, helped by Australia’s capitulation for 215 in the first innings. The third Test was drawn; the fourth Test at Headingley had Australia wiping England out by an innings and 80 runs; but the last Test at The Oval had Australia collapsing for 160 in the first innings, facilitated by five wickets from seamer Stuart Broad and four wickets from offspinner Graeme Swann, en route to a 197-run loss, which ended their hold on the Ashes. READ: Ashes 2009: Jonathan Trott marks his arrival with century on debut to win England the urn

After a year and a half, England arrived in Australia, and beat the home side 3-1, a result that prompted the creation of the Argus Review. Australia lost again, in England in 2013, but that series was a lot closer to the 3-0 scoreline. A few month later, however, England were whitewashed 5-0 by Australia in Mitchell Johnson’s Ashes, the series in which he took 37 wickets.