Virat Kohli-led Indian team departed for Zimbabwe for the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series.

The squad is without inspirational captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni who has been given a break by the national selectors.

The selectors have also rested three pace bowlers — Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav — along with spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

India are visiting the African nation after three years. In June 2010, an India team led by Suresh Raina took part in a triangular ODI series in Zimbabwe but came a cropper, failing to reach the final.

India made amends when they blanked Zimbabwe 2-0 in the Twenty20 series held immediately after the conclusion of the tri-series final won by Lanka.

(With inputs from PTI)