Parvez Rasool on Friday, became the first player from Jammu and Kashmir to be named in the Indian cricket team as the selectors opted to rest captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and four other top players for the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series in Zimbabwe later this month.

Prolific batsman Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane were also recalled in the 15-man squad to be led by young Virat Kohli who is currently leading the team in the West Indies following a hamstring injury to Dhoni.

Saurashtra pacer Jaydev Unadkat and Haryana speedster Mohit Sharma, who made an impression in the Indian Premier League 2013 for the Chennai Super Kings, were also named in the squad announced by BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel after a meeting of the selection committee in Mumbai.

India squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya  Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.