Indian selectors announced the 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy to be played in England next month.

The selectors took a hard call by dropping Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh. With the exclusion of seasoned campaigners like Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh and Zaheer Khan from the list, they have already put a step forward in building a new set of players under MS Dhoni.

Murali Vijay and Shikhar Dhawan have been included as openers.

Dinesh Karthik has been recalled to the side while Amit Mishra too bagged his place on the back of impressive performances in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vinay Kumar and Umesh Yadav will form the Indian pace attack.