AB de Villiers    AFP
This was the 7th time AB de Villiers got run out in an ICC ODI tourament AFP

6.67 batting average of AB de Villiers in this Champions Trophy, his worst in any series or tournament with a 3 innings cut-off. This is also the 2nd-worst average by a South African captain in a series or tournament, after Jacques Kallis (5 in NatWest Series against England in 2008).

5 Indian batsmen before Shikhar Dhawan to have scored 1,000 runs in ICC ODI tournaments. They are Sachin Tendulkar (2,719), Sourav Ganguly (1,671), Rahul Dravid (1,487), Virender Sehwag (1,232) and Yuvraj Singh (1,069). Virat Kohli also completed his 1,000 runs in ICC ODI tournaments today, becoming the 7th Indian to do so.

0 bigger margins of victory for India against South Africa in an ICC ODI tournament than this while chasing. India beat South Africa by 8 wickets with 72 balls to spare, which is their biggest margin in terms of both wickets and balls left. This is also the 4th-biggest margin win over South Africa by any side in ICC ODI tournaments in terms of balls left.

51 runs for which South Africa lost their last 8 wickets in this match, their lowest against India and in any ICC ODI match. Their previous lowest against India was 78 runs at Nairobi in 1999-00; their previous lowest in ICC tournaments was 71, which happened against Australia in the 2007 World Cup.

634 runs for Dhawan in Champions Trophy, the 6th-most by any batsman and 2nd-most by an Indian, after Ganguly (665). Dhawan went past Dravid s tally of 627 runs and is currently behind only Chris Gayle (791), Mahela Jayawardene (742), Kumar Sangakkara (683), Ganguly and Kallis (653).

82 run outs so far inflicted by India in ICC ODI tournaments, the 2nd-most by any team in history after Australia s 86. India went past England s tally of 79 run outs. India have ran 76 different batsmen out. This is also the 2nd-most, after Australia s 79. Moreover, India have inflicted 22 run outs in Champions Trophy, again the 2nd-most, this time after West Indies 24. India went past Sri Lanka s 19. Out of those 22, India dismissed 21 players, 2nd-most after West Indies s 23. India went past Australia and Sri Lanka s joint-most of 18 players in this list.

3 run-out dismissals inflicted by India in this match, the most for them in a Champions Trophy match. For South Africa, this is the 2nd-most run outs in a Champions Trophy match. Their highest is 4 against Pakistan in 2013 edition.

5 Indian bowlers picked at least one wicket in this match. This is the 8th time five Indian bowlers took one or more wicket each in a Champions Trophy match and the 2nd time against South Africa, after 2000. Overall, this was the 29th time India did this in an ICC ODI tournament, the 3rd-most by a team after Australia (32) and Sri Lanka (30).

6 fifty-plus scores in Champions Trophy for Dhawan, the joint-most for any player along with Dravid and Ganguly.

0 score between 50 and 99 for Quinton de Kock against India in ODIs before today. In 10 innings before today he had gone past fifty 5 times and had reached hundred on every single occasion. This is the first instance of him getting dismissed without converting it to century.

3rd instance of Ravichandran Ashwin taking the wicket of a South African opener. Overall, this was the 31st time he did this in ODIs. This is the first time India won against South Africa when Ashwin scalped the wicket of an opener, though they have won 19 out of 31 matches against all oppositions when Ashwin got an opposition opener.

1 team to inflict five or more run outs in two different Champions Trophy editions before India West Indies 8 in 2006 and 5 in 2004. Today s three run outs makes India s tally to 6 in this edition. India had also inflicted 5 run outs in 2013. India also became the 2nd team to achieve this feat in consecutive editions.

2nd-lowest total for South Africa in Champions Trophy 191. Their lowest is 175 against England in 2013, which also happened at The Oval.

7 run outs for de Villiers in ICC ODI tournaments, joint 2nd-most by any player along with Rahul Dravid. Inzamam-ul-Haq holds the record with 9. In Champions Trophy, de Villiers is at joint 2nd-spot too with 3, along with Mahela and Tendulkar. The record is 6 by Dravid.

3 wicketkeepers to have claimed 50 dismissals in ICC ODI tournaments before MS Dhoni. Dhoni reached the landmark with the catch of Morne Morkel. The other three wicketkeepers to achieve this are Sangakkara (87), Adam Gilchrist (77) and Mark Boucher (50).

5 century stands between Dhawan and Kohli for the 2nd wicket in ODIs. This is the 2nd-most number of century stands by any Indian pair for the 2nd wicket after Dravid and Ganguly (8).