Shakib Al Hasan receiving the player of the match. Picture Courtesy: Rangpur Riders official Twitter account
Shakib Al Hasan receiving the player of the match. Picture Courtesy: Rangpur Riders official Twitter account

Ever since its inception, the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) has been a  talking point for cricket lovers across the globe. Players from almost all cricketing nations are a part of the tournament  which has had some nail-biting finishes in this edition of the T20 tournament. Many matches by far had crucial turns and jaw-dropping conclusions, and bowlers have made impacts on traditionally batsmen-friendly wickets in Bangladesh. Paulami Chakraborty lists five of the most destructive spells seen till date in this season of BPL 2015. Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2015: Points Table and Team Standings

Al-Amin Hossain 5-36, Match 6, Sylhet Super Stars vs Barisal Bulls:

A low-scoring thriller as it was, the match was one of the most exciting contests in the tournament so far. Barisal Bulls batted first and put up a paltry target of 109 for the Sylhet Super Stars. The Bulls were left with no other option but to bounce back with the ball, and they found a hero in Al Amin Hossain. Starting with wicket of the opener Mominul Haque, Al-Amin Hossain went on to take 5 wickets, with the season’s first hat-trick included in it. With his five-wicket haul, Al-min Hossain remained elemental in the one-run win that the Bulls bagged.

Shakib Al Hasan 4-16, Match 7, Rangpur Riders vs Dhaka Dynamites

If the sixth match was a close one, the seventh saw a full domination from Rangpur Riders over Dhaka Dynamites. Batting first, the Riders put up a mammoth score of 176. The chase for Dhaka Dynamites was made even tougher by the Riders’ captain Shakib Al Hasan as he excelled with the ball. Shakib took 4 for 16 in his 4 overs. Accounting for both the openers, he caused the initial damage to the Dynamites’ innings, and gave the finishing touch by removing the opponents’ last hope Nasir Hossain and Farhad Reza. ALSO READ: Bangladesh Premier League 2015: Top 5 matches so far

Mohammad Shahid 4-12, Match 9, Sylhet Super Stars vs Rangpur Riders

Again a low scoring match, but this time it was the Rangpur Riders who were defeated by the Sylhet Super Stars bowlers. Winning the toss, the Riders chose to bat and immediately got into a helpless situation in front of the Super Stars’ bowling attack. Mohammad Shahid proved himself to be the most lethal one by taking both Soumya Sarkar and Shakib Al Hasan which was a huge blow for the Riders. He later on took the last two wickets as well  of Sachithra Senanayake and Arafat Sunny, ending the game with the figures of 4 for 16 in his 4 overs. But unfortunately, that couldn’t save his side from a 6-run defeat.

Naeem Islam 3-7, Match 10, Chittagong Vikings vs Dhaka Dynamites

Chittagong Vikings were up against the Dhaka Dynamites for the tenth match of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2015. Vikings won the toss and elected to bat. But the decision was not at all supported by their performance as whole team collapsed within 19 overs, scoring only 92. The score looked seemingly easy but the Vikings did some last minute damage to the Dynamites, with Naeem Islam picking up 3 wickets for only 7 runs in his 3 overs. He removed a settled Shadman Islam who was batting at 45 and then went on to get rid of Nasir Jamshed and Nasir Hossain, while registering an economy of 2.33. Unluckily, the Vikings lost it to the Dynamites by 6 wickets.

Nuwan Kulasekara 4-12, Match 11, Comilla Victorians vs Rangpur Riders

One of the most consistent bowlers of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2015 is undoubtedly Nuwan Kulasekara. He registered his best figures in this tournament in the match against the Rangpur Riders. Winning the toss, the Comilla Victorians sent the Riders to bat first and Kulasekara did the damage. He removed all the three top-order batsmen and later on removed Senanayake, registering the figures of 4 for 12. He also bowled a maiden over in his spell, and was the most impactful bowler to help Victorians restrict the Riders at 82. Victorians eventually won the contest. Live Cricket Score, Rangpur Riders vs Barisal Bulls, Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2015 Match 19 at Chittagong

(Paulami Chakraborty, a singer, dancer, artist, and photographer, loves the madness of cricket and writes about the game. She can be followed on Twitter at @Polotwitts)