Geoff Dymock dismisses all 11 Indian batsmen in a Test at Kanpur

Geoff Dymock’s wicket-to-wicket bowling along with uneven bounce of the Kanpur pitch was too hot to handle for the Indian batsmen.

On October 7, 1979, Geoff Dymock became the third bowler in the history of cricket to dismiss all the batsmen across both the innings. Sarang Bhalerao revisits Dymock’s magical spell against India at Kanpur.

Geoff Dymock is part of cricketing trivia. In most quizzes the quizmaster will ask you to connect the following names: Jim Laker, Srinivas Venkataraghvan, Geoff Dymock, Abdul Qadir, Waqar Younis and Muttiah Muralitharan. You will wonder who this Dymock is. These are the sort of questions where you either know the answer or not. It’s a cakewalk for regular quizzers but for the tyros linking these men is a gargantuan task.

The simple answer to this question is these men are the ones who have dismissed all the 11 batsmen in a Test match. You will wonder why Anil Kumble’s name had been missed by the quizmaster. It is because Kumble, who took 10 wickets in an innings against Pakistan in Delhi, failed to dismiss Waqar Younis in either innings.

In Australia’s third Test match on the tour of India at Kanpur, Dymock — a left-arm fast bowler picked up five scalps in the first innings. He had Sunil Gavaskar leg-before for 76. That was his lone wicket on the first day of the match. On the second day he dismissed Karsan Ghavri (5), Shivlal Yadav (0), Venkataraghvan (1) and Gundappa Viswanath (44). Viswanath took a single off Dymock’s over which exposed the lower-order to his bowling. Dymock dismissed Ghavri and Yadav off successive deliveries. India were skittled for 271. This was Dymock’s second five-for in the innings after his debut against New Zealand at Adelaide in 1974.

Australia took a slender 33-run lead, powered by Graham Yallop’s 89 and half-centuries from skipper Kim Hughes (50) and opener Rick Darling, who batted at No 8. Darling had hurt his shoulder while fielding.

In the second innings, India scored 311 but struggled to a large extent facing Dymock. The pitch had an uneven bounce and Dymock’s wicket-to-wicket bowling proved to be too hot to handle for the hosts. He picked up Dilip Vengsarkar (20), Yashpal Sharma (0), Kapil Dev (10), Syed Kirmani (45), Chetan Chauhan (84), Yadav (18) and Dilip Doshi (0). Dymock, thus, became the third bowler to dismiss all the 11 batsmen in a Test. Yadav was dismissed twice by Dymock.

List of bowlers who have dismissed all 11 batsmen in a Test match:

Bowlers Opponents No. of wkts taken Venue Year
1 Jim Laker (England) Australia 19 Old Trafford 1956
2 S Venkataraghvan (India) New Zealand 12 New Delhi 1964
3 Geoff Dymock (Australia) India 12 Kanpur 1979
4 Abdul Qadir (Pakistan) England 13 Lahore 1987
5 Waqar Younis (Pakistan) New Zealand 12 Faisalabad 1990
6 Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) South Africa 13 Galle 2000

Chauhan and Viswanath looked confident at the wicket. Kirmani’s contribution was vital too. India set Australia a daunting task to score 279 runs to win.

Australia surrendered meekly, getting bowled out for 125, thus losing the Test by 153 runs.

Brief scores:

India 271 (Sunil Gavaskar 76, Chetan Chauhan 58; Geoff Dymock 5 for 99) and 311 (Chetan Chauhan 84, Gundappa Viswanath 52; Geoff Dymock 7 for 67) beat Australia 304 (Graham Yallop 89; Karsan Ghavri 3 for 65) and 125 (Dav Whatmore 33; Kapil Dev 4 for 30, Shivlal Yadav 4 for 35) by 153 runs.

(Sarang Bhalerao hails from a family of doctors, but did his engineering. He then dumped a career in IT with Infosys to follow his heart and passion and became a writer with CricketCountry. A voracious reader, Sarang aspires to beat Google with his knowledge of the game! You can follow him on Twitter here)