This is Sri Lanka’s first ICC tournament win since the 1996 World Cup. Photo Courtesy: DNA


By CricketCountry Staff


The five editions of the ICC World T20 so far have witnessed a new winner right since 2007. The favourites of this edition, Sri Lanka finally broke the final jinx to emerge victorious over former champions India. Like every tournament, the World T20 had it’s own share of records, drama and entertainment. The associate nations performed well above everyone’s expectations. Netherlands’ in over England and Hong Kong’s stunning victory over hosts Bangladesh were the notable performances. While Netherlands notched a few high-scoring records in the qualifiers, they were at the wrong end of a T20 record when champions Sri Lanka bundled them out for 39 in the league phase of the tournament. However, the man who set the tournament on fire was Virat Kohli. The India No 3 lit up the World T20 with 303 runs at an average of 106.33.


Among the bowlers, it was Imran Tahir (South Africa) and Ahsan Malik (Netherlands) topped with 12 wickets. The most memorable performance was by Rangana Herath who picked five wickets for three runs in a must-win match against New Zealand.


Towards the end of the World T20, there was ample entertainment as Kohli received a marriage proposal on Twitter from England women’s team player Danielle Wyatt. The tournament ended with the Lankans defeating India in the final as two of their stalwarts, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara bowed out from the shortest format.