India won their sixth Asia Cup title © AFP

The final of Asia Cup Twenty20 (T20) 2016 was played between India and Bangladesh. In a rain-affected match, MS Dhoni won the toss and invited Bangladesh to bat. Indian bowlers started well once again, and Ashish Nehra and Jasprit Bumrah removed the Bangladeshi openers inside 5 overs. After that Sabbir Rahman held up one, but got hardly any support till Mahmudullah walked out. Mahmudullah’s cameo helped Bangladesh to reach 120 from 15 overs. In reply, Indian lost Rohit Sharma in the second over, but Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli added 94 for the second wicket. Then MS Dhoni thumped a quickfire 20 in 6 balls and helped India to win 2016 edition of Asia Cup.With this match, once again several records entered in the ledgers of cricket in this format of the game. ALSO READ: Full Cricket Scorecard: India vs Bangladesh, Asia Cup T20 2016 Final at Mirpur

6 — Asia Cup titles won by India out of 13 editions. It is the most by any team. Sri Lanka have won 5 titles while Pakistan have won 2 titles.

84.22 Kohli’s average in 2nd innings in T20Is is the highest among batsmen who have played more than 6 T20Is. He has scored 758 runs from 16 innings with 75 fours and 13 sixes. In the Asia Cup final, Kohli scored 41* from 28 balls with 5 fours.

52.25 Average of Dhoni as a captain in 2nd innings in T20Is. It is the highest among captains with a 250-run cut-off. Dhoni has scored 418 runs from 22 innings with 26 fours and 16 sixes. In the final, he made 20* from 6 balls by with a four and 2 sixes.

16 Sixes hit by Dhoni in second innings as captain in T20Is. He is the joint-second with Brendon McCullum, and just behind Shahid Afridi (17).

600 Runs scored by Kohli in 2nd innings in India’s won matches. It is the second-most by any player after Martin Guptill (611).

100 Average at which Virat Kohli has scored his 600 runs during 15 successful T20I chases. This is a record for anyone with more than 275 runs.

1st Mushfiqur Rahim became the first Bangladeshi batsmen to play 50 T20Is.

2nd Sabbir Rahman became second Bangladeshi batsman after Tamim Iqbal to score more than 300 T20I runs in a calendar year. In this year, Sabbir has scored 316 runs from 9 matches. Tamim had 327 from 9 matches in 9 matches in 2012. Sabbir scored 32 from 29 balls in the final.

4 Ducks scored by Mashrafe Mortaza in T20Is, the joint-most by any captain, equalling Afridi and William Porterfield.

1st Dhoni became 1st Indian batsman to hit 300 sixes in international cricket. He has hit 300 sixes from 428 matches.

7th MS Dhoni became 7th to hit 1,300 fours in international cricket. The others are Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman and Mohammad Azharuddin.

8 Consecutive T20I innings in which Ashish Nehra has picked up a wicket in Powerplay overs in T20Is. In the final he dismissed Soumya Sarkar in his 2nd over.

253.8 — Strike Rate at which Mahmudullah scored 33 (from 13 balls) in the final. This is the second-fastest by a Bangladeshi in T20Is with a 10-ball cut-off. Aftab Ahmed (36 from 14 balls at 257.1 against South Africa at Cape Town, 2015) holds the record. against India in Asia Cup’s final match is the second highest by a Bangladeshi batsman in a T20I innings among players who have faced minimum 10 balls in a T20I innings.

352 Runs scored by Kohli in 2016 in T20Is, the most by any player. His has scored 352 from 8 T20I at 117.33. Rohit is at second place with 337 from 11 matches.