Another 36 runs will make Virat Kohli become the first Indian captain to score 1,000 runs in a season    IANS
Another 36 runs will make Virat Kohli become the first Indian captain to score 1,000 runs in a season IANS

Virat Kohli has scored 964 runs in this season. Another 36 runs in the only Test against Bangldesh will make Kohli the 7th Indian cricketer to score 1,000 runs in a season after Gautam Gambhir (1,269 in 2008-09), Rahul Dravid (1,241 in 2003-04 and 1,006 in 2002), Mohinder Amarnath (1,182 in 1982-83), Sunil Gavaskar (1,179 in 1978-79, 1,027 in 1979-80) and Virender Sehwag (1,128 in 2004-05, 1,079 in 2003-04). Kohli will also become the first Indian captain to score 1,000 runs in a single season and 7th overall after Ricky Ponting (1,483 in 2005-06), Brian Lara (1,253 in 2003-04), Michael Clarke (1,178 in 2012-13, 1,141 in 2011-12), Graeme Smith (1,107 in 2011-12), Graham Gooch (1,058 in 1990) and Bob Simpson (1,007 in 1964-65).

This will be Ravichandran Ashwin s 45th Test. Two more wickets in the Test will make Ashwin the fastest to reach 250 wickets landmark by a significant margin. The current record-holder is Dennis Lillee, who reached the 250-wicket mark in 48 Tests. If he does it, then Ashwin will become the 6th Indian to reach this landmark in Tests after Anil Kumble (619), Kapil Dev (434), Harbhajan Singh (417), Zaheer Khan (311) and Bishan Singh Bedi (266).

This will be the first Test for Bangladesh on Indian soil. They will become the 9th team to play Test cricket in India. So far, both these teams have played 8 Tests against each other, every single one in Bangladesh. Six of them were won by India, while two were drawn.

Abhinav Mukund last played for India in 2011. Since his last appearance, India have played 54 Tests. If Mukund gets to play he will become the second Indian cricketer to have missed more than 50 Tests after Parthiv Patel (83).

Ravindra Jadeja needs 10 wickets to complete 100 wickets at home. He will become the 11th Indian to achieve this feat.

Jadeja also stands at 111 Test wickets, marginally behind Dilip Doshi (114) and Pragyan Ojha (113). Only Bedi (266), Vinoo Mankad (162) and Ravi Shastri (151) have more Test wickets among Indian left-arm spinners.

With one more wicket, Shakib Al Hasan will become the first Bangladeshi bowler to take 50 wickets in overseas Tests.

Tamim Iqbal needs 57 runs to complete 3,500 runs in Tests. He will become the first Bangladesh batsman to touch the landmark.

Mushfiqur Rahim needs 78 runs to complete 3,000 Test runs. He is currently behind only Tamim (3,443), Shakib (3,213) and Habibul Bashar (3,026).

Taijul Islam needs 7 wickets to touch the 50-wicket mark in Tests. He will become the 5th Bangladeshi to reach the landmark after Shakib (165), Mohammad Rafique (100), Mashrafe Mortaza (78) and Shahadat Hossain (72).

Ashwin has taken 55 wickets in 2016-17. If he takes 10 more wickets, Ashwin will set a new Indian record for most wickets in a Test season, going past Kumble s 64 wickets in 2004-05 (and also Kapil s record 63 in 1979-80).


Similarly, if Mehedi Hasan takes 10 wickets he will also become the highest wicket-taker among the Bangladeshi bowlers in a single season. The current record holder from Bangladesh is Shakib (32). Mehedi is currently at par with Rafique (23).

Ashwin has now 24 five-wicket hauls in Tests, the 3rd-most by any Indian bowler after Kumble (35) and Harbhajan Singh (25), and joint-11th overall. Two more will make him go past Harbhajan.

Ashwin also has 7 ten-wicket hauls, the 2rd-most by any Indian bowler after Kumble (8) and joint-5th overall. One more will put him at par with Kumble. Muttiah Muralitharan (22), Shane Warne (10), and Richard Hadlee (9) are the others ahead of Ashwin.

Cheteshwar Pujara has scored 1,522 First-Class runs in the ongoing season. He needs only 83 runs to break the all-time record for most runs in an Indian season, which is held by Chandu Borde (1,604 runs in 1964-65).

Mushfiqur needs 8 dismissals to claim 100 victims in Tests. He will become the first wicketkeeper from Bangladesh to achieve this feat and 41st overall.

Murali Vijay has 8 Test hundreds, all of them as opener. Of Indian openers, only Gavaskar (33), Sehwag (22) and Gambhir (9) have more Test hundreds, while Navjot Singh Sidhu also has 8. One more will make him go past Sidhu and stand with Gambhir.

If India wins this Test, then it will be their 6th consecutive series victory. This will break the previous record of 5, which happened between 2008-09 and 2009-10.

If India manages to draw the Test, then it will be their 19th consecutive Test without a defeat. They will stand at 5th spot in the list after West Indies (27), England (26), Australia (25 and 22).

So far, India have won 14 Tests under Kohli s captaincy. Another win will put him at 3rd spot in the list of Indian captains after MS Dhoni (27) and Sourav Ganguly (21).

India have crossed 700 four times in Test cricket. One more 700 will put them at the top along with Sri Lanka (5). Besides India, Australia and West Indies have also scored 700 on 4 occasions.

With 10 wickets, Ishant Sharma is the only bowler in the Indian squad to have taken wickets in double-digits against Bangladesh. On the other hand, Shakib has 13 wickets against India and needs 3 more to go past Rafique s tally of 15 wickets against India the most by any Bangladeshi.

A win for either team will not change their place in ICC Test rankings. India will remain No. 1 and Bangladesh No. 9 irrespective of the result.