Kings XI Punjab defended a low score courtesy some fine bowling and fielding © BCCI
Kings XI Punjab defended a low score courtesy some fine bowling on Friday © BCCI

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) succumbed to their fourth straight defeat in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 with a 19-run loss to Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru. With this win, KXIP are still in with a chance to make it to the playoffs, but as far as RCB are concerned, things are getting from bad to worse. They have now gone six games without a win and have just two more matches to go in which they have nothing but pride to play for. However, this match did produce quite a few good performances. Let us take a look at some of them. Full Cricket Scorecard, Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kings XI Punjab, IPL 2017, Match 43

Unchanged Kings: The Kings XI Punjab have a reputation of being inconsistent with their playing XI. Teams usually make changes after losing games, but the Mohali-based franchise have invariably found themselves doing too much of chopping and changing even after winning the games. For a change, however, they did not make any change for Friday’s game against RCB, thus fielding an unchanged XI for the first time this season.

Hashim Amla’s sportsmanship: Aniket Choudhary and Sreenath Aravind formed a lethal opening pair as they dismissed the dangerous Martin Guptill and Hashim Amla cheaply. Amla, edged one to Kedar Jadhav off Choudhary, but did not wait for the umpire’s decision and walked. His gesture proves that there is still some sportsmanship left in such a competitive environment.

Kedar Jadhav’s not-so-memorable record: Kedar Jadhav might be a makeshift keeper, but he takes pride in doing his job for the RCB. However, on Friday, he got his name associated with a record he won’t want to remember. By conceding 8 byes in the game, Jadhav has now conceded the joint-second most byes in the history of the IPL, in an innings. The highest is 9, conceded by Robin Uthappa against the same opposition in 2015.

Adding to this, he missed a relatively easy stumping of Wriddhiman Saha.

Sandeep Sharma’s spell: Sandeep Sharma became the first bowler in IPL history to get Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers out in the same innings. In fact, Sandeep has now dismissed Kohli five times in IPL which is the most times he has dismissed any batsman in IPL. Only Ashish Nehra (6) times has dismissed Kohli on more occasions in IPL.

Akshar Patel’a all-round show: Akshar has surely hit a purple patch as an all-rounder. It was no different in this game. He walked in at a time when KXIP had lost half their side in the 14th over with just 78 on the board. He smacked his way to an unbeaten 38 off 17, which included 19 ruins off the final over from Shane Watson. With the ball, he got the wickets of Watson, Pawan Negi and Samuel Badree to finish with figures of 3 for 11 from his three overs.

Mandeep Singh’s lone battle: Mandeep has been out of form in this tournament. However, he was entrusted to open the innings with Gayle in this match. While Gayle was dismissed for a duck, Mandeep played a free flowing innings, which consisted of five fours and a couple of sixes. He was losing partners at a rapid pace, but top-scored for RCB with a 40-ball 46.