Shan Masood got his hundred by hitting Tharindu Kaushal for a six © AFP
Shan Masood got his hundred by hitting Tharindu Kaushal for a six © AFP

Shan Masood in his match winning 125 against Sri Lanka at Pallekele completed his maiden test century with a six. Bharath Seervi lists the batsmen who got to their maiden test hundred with a six.

Test cricket is known to be a game of patience where batsmen usually prefer getting to their milestones in a slow and steady manner. But, not all batsmen adhere to this trend. While most prefer to take it slow after getting into the 90s in order to minimise risk of getting out, some try to race through the period in order to stifle the influence of the ‘nervous nineties’.

Scoring a century in Tests is of utmost importance to all batsmen and with that thought they try to get there as safely as possible while the brash ones go for the big ones against all the odds. Sometimes the aggressive route does pay off.

In the final test of the series between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at Pallekele, Pakistan were given a target of 377 to win. One of the openers Ahmed Shehzad was out for a duck for three balls in the second over and then Azhar Ali went to pavilion in the seventh over. But Shan Masood, the opener, and Younis Khan at number four were determined at the crease. Shan Masood had scored 75 in his debut test innings and in the next eight innings he never scored more than 40. This time the stage was set and the chance was there to prove his worth for the team.

Masood breached the 75-run mark and worked his way to 96 and in a bid to get done through his first ever experience of nervous nineties quickly, he attacked spinner Tharindu Kaushal and it paid off as the ball went for six, taking Masood past the 100-run mark. He joined a club of players who reached their maiden test century with a six in Tests. The table below lists all the players who got to their maiden test century with a six. Overall Shan Masood is the 28th to feature in the list which has most of the players from this century.

Maiden Test century with a six

Batsman Runs For Against Venue Season
Stanley Jackson 103 England Australia The Oval 1893
Ted Bowley 109 England New Zealand Auckland 1929/30
Paul Winslow 108 South Africa England Old Trafford 1955
John Benaud 142 Australia Pakistan MCG 1972/73
Ian Davis 105 Australia Pakistan Adelaide 1976/77
Kapil Dev 126* India West Indies Kotla 1978/79
Collis King 100* West Indies New Zealand Christchurch 1979/80
John Wright 110 New Zealand India Auckland 1980/81
DuleepMendis 105 Sri Lanka India Chepauk 1982/83
Aravinda de Silva 122 Sri Lanka Pakistan Faisalabad 1985/86
Greg Matthews 115 Australia New Zealand Brisbane 1985/86
IjazFaqih 105 Pakistan India Motera 1986/87
Chris Lewis 117 England India Chepauk 1992/93
Robert Samuels 125 West Indies New Zealand Antigua 1996
Craig McMillan 139 New Zealand Zimbabwe Wellington 1997/98
Ridley Jacobs 113 West Indies South Africa Barbados 2001
Michael Vaughan 120 England Pakistan Old Trafford 2001
Andrew Symonds 156 Australia England MCG 2006/07
Irfan Pathan 102 India Pakistan Bangalore 2007/08
Phillip Hughes 115 Australia South Africa Durban 2008/09
Mitchell Johnson 123* Australia South Africa Cape Town 2008/09
Eoin Morgan 130 England Pakistan Trent Bridge 2010
Harbhajan Singh 115 India New Zealand Motera 2010/11
Dean Brownlie 109 New Zealand South Africa Cape Town 2012/13
Steve Smith 138* Australia England The Oval 2013
Gary Ballance 104* England Sri Lanka Lord’s 2014
Sarfraz Ahmed 103 Pakistan Sri Lanka Colombo (SSC) 2014
Shan Masood 125 Pakistan Sri Lanka Pallekele 2015

– It was the only century in test career for Ted Bowley, Paul Winslow, Chris Lewis, John Benaud, Ian Davis, IjazFaqih, Collis King and Robert Samuels. Mitchell Johnson, Irfan Pathan, Dean Brownlie and Shan Masood have also scored only one century but haven’t retired yet.

– Till 2014, only one player from Pakistan had this distinction – Ijaz Faqih in 1986/87. But in about a year there have been two players who done this – Sarfraz Ahmed and Shan Masood.

– Phillip Hughes and Mitchell Johnson did in the same series in South Africa in 2008/09 – Only such instance.

– Ridley Jacobs scored three test centuries out of which two had come with a six, his first two.

Footnote Trivia – Most test centuries reached with a six

This is another record held by Sachin Tendulkar. He scored six test centuries with a six to which no one came near. The next highest is four by Ken Barrington. Batsmen who have completed three centuries with a six in Tests are Brian Lara, Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum and Kumar Sangakkara.

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at @SeerviBharath and on Facebook here)