Sunrisers Hyderabad's best finish so far in IPL has been 6th place which was in 2013 © IANS
Sunrisers Hyderabad’s best finish so far in IPL has been 6th place which was in 2013 © IANS

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), a well-balanced side with the likes of Yuvraj Singh, David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, Ashish Nehra, Kane Williamson, Trent Boult and Eoin Morgan are ready to challenge the coveted Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy in the ninth edition of IPL. Sunrisers Hyderabad came into the tournament in 2013 after Hyderabad’s previous franchise Deccan Chargers were terminated. Their best finish so far in the T20 league came the same year; Sunrisers Hyderabad finished 4th in 2013 and that was followed a 6th place finish in the next two seasons. The franchise-based in Hyderabad was one of the smartest pickers of 2016 IPL Auction, as they concentrated on the local talent along with the big stars. The likes of Deepak Hooda, Aditya Tare, Vijay Shankar and Abhimanyu Mithun will only strengthen the side. READ: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) team in IPl 2016: Well-balanced side after IPL 9 

Sunrisers Hyderabad have had five skippers in three seasons—Kumar Sangakkara, Cameron White, Shikhar Dhawan, Darren Sammy and Warner—who is the current skipper. While he is the vice-captain of Australia, he will receive assistance in this role from New Zealand and England skippers, Williamson and Morgan respectively, who are also in Sunrisers Hyderabad. Morgan and Williamson are coming off an impressive run as Twenty20 International (T20I) skippers of their respective sides in the recently-concluded ICC World T20 2016.

Although New Zealand were knocked out after losing to England in the semi-final, Williamson’s brave decisions throughout the tournament were appreciated. The Black Caps were coming off a massive transformation following Brendon McCullum’s international retirement and the way the young Williamson carried forward the side demonstrated his natural leadership skills. He dared to leave their two-most important players out—Boult and Tim Southee—in order to play three spinners and that trick did the job for his side. Barring the semi-final, New Zealand seemed unstoppable.

Meanwhile, Morgan’s presence in Sunrisers Hyderabad will do the side wonders because he is coming off a runner-up finish in the World T20. England lost the final to West Indies at Eden Gardens but Morgan won hearts with his character and temperament. The only worry for the Hyderabad-franchise is all the big hitters—Warner, Williamson, Dhawan and Morgan—failed to play impactful innings in the World T20.

The good news comes along the veteran Nehra, who happened to be India’s best bowler in the World T20 2016. He picked 5 wickets in five matches at an economy of 5.94. He was the joint-highest wicket-0taker for India with Hardik Pandya but Nehra had a way better economy which surely was due to his discipline and experience. Those factors will come in handy for Sunrisers Hyderabad while they look as strong contenders for the knock-out stages of IPL 2016. Nehra will have the support from Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman, who was probably Sunrisers’ best snatch of IPL 2016 Auction. He was the seventh best due to a better economy rate among the bowlers who finished the World T20 with nine scalps.

Hyderabad easily will have one of the best top-orders in IPL 2016 in Warner, Dhawan, and Williamson along with the fresh talents of Aditya Tare, Naman Ojha, KL Rahul and T Suman. While Tare leads Mumbai in the domestic circuit, Rahul is one of the key players of Karnataka with a little experience in the international level. Suman previously has played for Hyderabad, so he will be well aware of the home conditions. Meanwhile, the middle-order options, the likes of Ricky Bhui, Eoin Morgan, Rahman, Yuvraj, Deepak Hooda and Bipul Sharma are strong options for those spots.

Overall, Sunrisers Hyderabad are a strong side and are all set to compete with the best of the IPL teams this year. Fans come in thousands in Rajeev Gandhi Stadium when Sunrisers Hyderabad play their home game. However, with this new side having a couple of most-admired cricketers across India, Sunrisers might find support even during their away games.

The Complete List of Sunrisers Hyderabad For IPL 2016: Ashish Reddy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Bipul Sharma, Karn Sharma, KL Rahul, Naman Ojha, Parvez Rasool, Ricky Bhui, Shikhar Dhawan, Siddharth Kaul, David Warner, Moises Henriques, Eoin Morgan, Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra, Deepak Hooda, Mustafizur Rahman, Aditya Tare, Barinder Singh Sran, Ben Cutting, Vijay Shankar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Tirumalsetti Suman.

(Sakshi Gupta, a reporter with CricketCountry, is a sports fanatic whose mantra in life is “do only what you enjoy.” Her Twitter handle is @sakshi2929)