Top run-getters in 2016: Virat Kohli (641), Mohammad Shahzad (520), Rohit Sharma (497) and Sabbir Rahman (463). Kohli s 641 is the highest by any batsman in a calendar year. Moreover, Kohli, Shahzad and Rohit all beat the previous record of 472, set by Martin Guptill in 2012. Shahzad s 520 is the highest by an associate team batsman.

Right-handed batsmen scored 19,518 runs in 2016, the highest in the history of T20Is, as is the 7,379 for left-handed batsmen. The previous bests both came in 2012 15,648 for right-handers and 5,775 for left-handers.


Most runs as captain: Kane Williamson holds the record, with 383, followed by Asghar Stanikzai (308). This is the first year when two captains scored over 300 runs in a year. The record for most runs by a captain in a calendar year remains with Kumar Sangakkara (434 in 2009).

Fastest fifty: Colin Munro hit the fastest fifty, a 14-ball half-century against Sri Lanka at Auckland. Munro’s 14-ball fifty is the 2nd-fastest after Yuvraj Singh s 12-ball blitz.

Fastest hundred: KL Rahul takes the top spot by scoring a 46-ball century against West Indies at Lauderhill. Rahul s 61-ball hundred is the joint-3rd fastest after Richard Levi s 45-ball century against New Zealand at Hamilton in 2012 and Faf du Plessis’ 46-ball hundred against West Indies at Johannesburg in 2015.

Most runs scored against a single opposition: 281 runs by Kohli against Australia, followed by Masakadza (222 against Bangladesh).

Most runs in a series: Tamim Iqbal s 295 in World T20 is the most runs scored in a series. This is also the 4th-highest by a batsman in any series across years and highest by a Bangladeshi. The record highest run-scorer in a series is held by Kohli with 319 runs in World T20 2014. In terms of bilateral series, Masakadza tops the chart with 222 runs against Bangladesh, which is also the overall most runs scored by a batsman in a two-team T20I series.

Most runs on a single ground: Tamim takes the lead here by scoring 233 runs at HPCA Stadium of Dharamsala during the World T20 tournament. It includes one century and a half-century.

Top scores in 2016: Maxwell (145*), Shane Watson (124*), Babar Hayat (122), Shahzad (118*), Rahul (110*).

Note: Watson s 124* is the only hundred by a captain and also the top score in an innings by a captain in 2016.

virat kohli

Sabbir, Maxwell and Shahzad all top the respective all-time lists as well.

Most not-outs in 2016: MS Dhoni leads the way with 11. This is the most not outs for a player in a calendar year by far. There were 342 instances of batsmen remaining remained not out this year, which took the historical count to 1,962. This is also the highest number of not outs in a year, beating the previous best of 283 in 2012.

Highest batting average (300 runs): Kohli leads this list with his excellent average of 106.83 across 641 runs, followed by Hashim Amla (77; 308 runs). Kohli’s average of 106.83 is the highest by any batsman in a calendar year. He went past his own average of 96.25 in 2014.

Most balls faced: Kohli faced 457 balls this year, the most by a batsman, followed by Rohit (378) and Sabbir (363). Kohli, Rohit and Sabbir all broke the previous record of 360 balls faced by Guptill in 2012.

Best strike-rate (300 runs): Maxwell has scored 435 runs at 174.7 every hundred balls. He is followed by Guptill (171.9) and Najibullah Zadran (166.8). Maxwell, Guptill and Najibullah all broke the previous best of 159 by Yuvraj Singh in 2009.

Centuries: A total of 8 centuries were scored in 2016, the most in a calendar year by far, doubling the previous best of 4 hundreds in 2012. The hundreds came from Hayat, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Maxwell, Shahzad, Rahul, Tamim and Watson.

Most fifty-plus scores: Kohli leads this list too with 7, the most by a batsman in a calendar year. A total of 114 fifties were registered in T20Is this year, which is the most, beating the previous best of 102 in 2012.


49s: As many as 10 scores of 49 were happened this year, the most for any calendar year. The previous record for most 49s in year was 7, set in 2014. Moreover, 4 out of 10 were unbeaten 49s, the most in a year, beating the previous record of 2 in 2012.

Most fours: Kohli tops the chart again, with 70, followed by Shahzad with 59. Kohli s 70 fours are the most by a batsman in a calendar year. He went past Dilshan s record of 66 boundaries in 2009. A total of 2,358 fours were hit in 2016, which takes the overall boundaries tally to 13,207. The tally of 2,358 fours in this year is also the highest in a calendar year. The previous best was of 1,881 in 2012.

Most sixes: Shahzad leads the way with 25, followed by Guptill with 23. Shahzad s tally is the joint 2nd-best in a calendar year along with Gayle (25 in 2012) and after Watson (28 in 2012). 961 sixes were hit in 2016, the most in a calendar year; the historical count now reads 4,919. The previous best was of 688 sixes in 2012.

Most runs in wins: With 513 runs, Kohli leads the way followed by Shahzad with 458.

Most runs in a losing cause: Shaiman Anwar enters this list by scoring 277 runs on losing causes, followed by Chandimal’s 270.

Consecutive 50s: Kohli and Amla scored fifties in 3 consecutive T20Is in 2016. Kohli s fifties came in one series against Australia. He became the first batsman to score three consecutive fifties in a bilateral series and first in terms of hitting all three against the same opponent.


Most ducks: Mashrafe Mortaza lead the way with 3 ducks, the most by a Bangladeshi player in a calendar year. The record remains with Umar Gul (4 in 2010). Total of 167 ducks happened in 2016, the most in a calendar year; the count reads 1,035. The previous record was 147 in 2010.

Golden ducks: There were 56 in all, which took the count to 350. This is also the record for the most golden ducks in a year, beating the 2010 record of 43.

Zero not out: 10 unbeaten noughts were registered in this year, which is a record now and took the count to 46. The previous best was of 6 unbeaten noughts in 2007, 2009 and 2010.

Dismissal types:



Set in

















Run out










Hit wicket





Amjad Javed was the only batsman to be given out hit wicket in T20Is this year.

Firsts in 2016

Face a ball

Martin Guptill


Martin Guptill

Not out

Ross Taylor/Grant Elliott


Tillakaratne Dilshan


Martin Guptill


Mohammad Shahzad