Cricket fraternity congratulates Jamaica Tallawahs for winning CPL 2016

The final of 2016 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) was played between the two table toppers of the tournament — Guyana Amazon Warriors (GAW) and Jamaica Tallawahs (JT). The expectation was very high with this final encounter but it ended in being a pretty boring way.

After winning the toss, JT invited GAW to bat first and from the very first over, the collapse began. The surprising part was pacer Sohail Tanvir’s arrival at number four position for GAW and subsequently he ended up scoring almost half of his team total by smashing 37-ball 42. All credit to JT bowlers, especially spinner Imad Wasim, who took three wickets and GAW were all out for mere 93. ALSO READ: Best XI from the fourth edition of Caribbean T20 carnival

Chris Gayle-led JT, chased this small total easily with the skipper himself played an explosive knock of 27-ball 54 but lost his wicket to Rayad Emrit — captain of GAW. Kumar Sangakkara ensured the victory with a boundary off the fifth ball of 13th over and JT become the champion of this tournament for the second time, after winning the inaugural edition of 2013. After this victory, many current and former cricketers took to social media and congratulated JT on their win.

Champions @jamaicatallawahs #cpl16 #finalists @cplt20 #congratulations

A video posted by Tom Moody (@tommoodycricket) on