India vs Bangladesh past T20I matches

In last five years, India and Bangladesh have played some intense cricket. The amount of excitement is always high from both the sides whenever they cross swords with each other. In One-Day Internationals (ODI) they have played many matches against each other but the rival feeling probably started when Bangladesh beat India in ICC Cricket World Cup 2007. Since then, there have been many instances in the past where Bangladesh was seen giving tough competitions to India in ODIs. But in Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is), India have been on the dominating side as Bangladesh have never tasted a single victory. Once again, they are standing against each other but this time in the final match of Asia Cup T20 2016 and this will be the second final which Bangladesh is going to. On the eve of this thrilling encounter, Abhishek Kumar goes into the past and lists out the three encounters between these two sides in T20Is.

1.  ICC World T20 2009 – Nottingham | Group match


India were playing as the defending champions and in their first match of the tournament, they met Bangladesh. Batting first, team India posted a good total of 180 runs with openers Gautam Gambhir and Rohit Sharma giving a perfect start by scoring 50 (46) and 36 (23) runs respectively. Later, Indian southpaw Yuvraj Singh played a cameo of 18-ball 41 and steered hi side to a commanding position.

In return, Bangladesh batsmen started pretty decently but later lost their way as wickets kept falling regularly and Indian spinner Pragyan Ojha outplayed the opponent with his spin web by taking four for 21. India won the match convincingly by 25 runs.

Brief scores:

India 180 for 5 in 20 overs (Gautam Gambhir 50, Yuvraj Singh 41 and Rohit Sharma 36; Naeem Islam 3-0-32-2, Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-24-1) beat Bangladesh 155 for 8 in 20 overs (Junaid Siddique 41, Naeem Islam 28; Pragyan Ojha 4-0-21-4, Ishant Sharma 4-0-34-2) by 25 runs.

 2.  ICC World T20 2014 – Mirpur | Group match


The second encounter between India and Bangladesh was witnessed after a gap of five years and once again it was the occasion of ICC World T20 but this time in their own backyard. Bowling first, Indian spinners Amit Mishra and Ravichandran Ashwin blocked the Bangladeshi batsmen from scoring a big total and restricted them at 138. Indian batsmen lost their first wicket very early but further they took control as both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli played well for their half-centuries and ended the match in favour of India by winning it by eight wickets.

Brief scores:

India 141 for 2 in 18.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 56 and Virat Kohli 57; Mashrafe Mortaza 4-0-23-1) beat Bangladesh 138 for 7 in 20 overs (Anamul Haque 44; Amit Mishra 4-0-26-3, Ravichandran Ashwin 4-0-15-2) by eight wickets.

3.  Asia Cup T20 2016 – Mirpur | League stage


The third time these two teams met in the Asia Cup 2016 at the same venue where they last played a T20I against each other. Bowling first, Bangladesh bowlers did a pretty good job by sending three Indian batsmen back to pavilion at the score of 42. In between, they dropped the catch of opener Rohit Sharma, who further went on to score 55-ball 83, which turned the match. Bangladesh lost wickets from the start and were unable to build any partnership from there. A lone hand was played by Sabbir Rahman but ended up in vain as Bangladesh lost once again against India in T20Is by 45 runs.

Brief scores:

India 166 for 6 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 83 and Hardik Pandya 31; Al-Amin Hossain 4-0-37-3, Shakib Al Hasan 3-0-15-1) beat Bangladesh 121 for 7 in 20 overs (Sabbir Rahman 44; Ashish Nehra 4-0-23-3) by 45 runs.

(Abhishek Kumar is a cricket devotee currently staffing with He can be followed at abhicricket.kumar and @abhishekkr2593)