IPL 2016: Delhi Daredevils’ 3rd biggest win and 9 other statistical highlights from DD vs KXIP at Delhi
Amit Mishra celebrates another wicket. (Photo courtesy: Twitter/AFP)

The seventh match of the ninth edition of Indian Premier League (IPL) was played between Delhi Daredevils (DD) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Zaheer Khan, the  DD skipper invited KXIP to bat first and outplayed them with their bowling, especially Amit Mishra, who took four wickets in his spell four overs. Half of the KXIP side batsmen were back to the pavilion at the score of 59. A lone hand of 32 runs was played by Manan Vohra and no other batsmen from KXIP could even touch 20-run mark. The target of 112 was never a big total to chase and DD did that in just 13.3 overs with the loss of two wickets. Quinton de Kock smashed a 42-ball 59 run. In between there were records which entered in the record books of IPL and Abhishek Kumar brings out such interesting statistical highlights from this match. IPL 2016, March 7, Pick of the tweets: Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab at Delhi

1. Amit Mishra played his 100th IPL match and become 15th cricketer to achieve this feat.

2. The total of 111 runs by KXIP after playing full 20 overs is the second lowest at Feroz Shah Kotla. The lowest total at this venue was scored by Chennai Super Kings, 110/8 against DD in 2012.

3. KXIP’s opener Murali Vijay was run out and this was the 12th instance when he was dismissed in this way in his IPL career, which is now the most by any player in this tournament. He broke the previous record of Gautam Gambhir and Venugopal Rao, who have been dismissed run out, 11 times in their IPL career.

4. Out of four wickets, Mishra’s one wicket came as leg before wicket (lbw), which was his 12th LBW wicket in IPL. Along with Piyush Chawla, he now has most number of lbws in the tournament.

5. This was the 19th instance when a batsman got out via stumping in Mishra’s bowling and most by any bowler in IPL.

6. With four wickets, Mishra is now the second highest wicket taker in this tournament with 116 wickets.

7. This was Shaun Marsh’s 57th IPL match and third most by any foreign player in this tournament after Lasith Malinga (98 matches) and Kieron Pollard (95 matches).

8. DD’s victory with 39 balls to spare is their third biggest win in IPL in terms of balls remaining.

9. KXIP scored 111 with the loss of nine wickets after playing full 20 overs. This is their lowest toatal after playing a quota of full 20 overs.

10. This was the third instance of Mishra taking four wickets in an IPL match. He is the fifth Indian bowler to take four wicket haul thrice or more in IPL after Munaf Patel (3 times), Anil Kumble (3 times), Lakshmipathy Balaji (4 times) and Ravindra Jadeja (4 times).

(Abhishek Kumar is a cricket devotee currently staffing with Criclife.com. He can be followed on Twitter @abhishekkr2593 and on Facebook at abhicricket.kumar)