The seven season-ending Purple Cap winners so far in IPL history
Imran Tahir is current purple cap holder in IPL 2015 with 13 wickets

T20 cricket may be a batsman’s game but there are a few bowlers who also make a mark with their skill. The Indian Premier League (IPL) recognises the leading wicket-takers each year with the Purple Cap. Nishad Pai Vaiya recalls the winners of the season-ending Purple Cap so far. 


1:  Sohail Tanvir (Season: 2008, M: 11, W: 22, Ave: 12.09, BB: 6 for 14)

Sohail Tanvir


Shane Warne’s Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural IPL against all expectations. It was a team that nurtured young talent and pitchforked unknown players on a pedestal. Then, there were those like Sohail Tanvir, who had already made their international debuts but were searching for stardom. With that wrong-footed action, Tanvir would move the ball away from the right-handers. He became the spearhead of the Rajasthan Royals attack as he went on to take 22 wickets in the season, which included a spell of six for 14 against the formidable Chennai Super Kings. Those figures still remain the best in an IPL game. Tanvir also had the honour of hitting the winning runs for Rajasthan Royals that season. Sadly, political issues ensured that Pakistan players never appeared in the tournament again.


2:  RP Singh (Season: 2009, M: 16, W: 23, Ave: 18.13, BB: 4 for 22)

RP singh

Adam Gilchrist fashioned a remarkable turn-around for the Deccan Chargers. Having finished at the bottom of the table in 2008, he scripted a victorious run for them the following year. In South African conditions, RP Singh was a handful with his left-arm pacers. He maintained the pressure early on and was then brought in for the later stages. In many ways, RP Singh went on to replicate his performance of the ICC World T20 2007 in South Africa. He was threatening and bowled with fire, playing an important role in Deccan Chargers’ title run.

3:  Pragyan Ojha (Season: 2010, M: 16, W: 21, Ave: 20.42, BB: 3 for 26)

pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha has often foxed batsmen with his flight and guile. The fact that a spinner won the Purple Cap was good to watch. This was before the advent of Sunil Narine and the wily spinners dominating T20. Although Ajantha Mendis had played, he was not as effective. This year, Deccan Chargers started off poorly and then suddenly picked up on form to make it through to the semi-finals. Ojha played a role in that recovery with his consistency and went on to beat his India teammates, Harbhajan Singh and Amit Mishra to win the Purple Cap.

4:  Lasith Malinga (Season: 2011, M: 16, W: 28, Ave: 13.39, BB: 5 for 13)

lasith Malinga'

Lasith Malinga was unstoppable this season. Although Mumbai Indians’ form fluctuated through the season, Malinga was one consistent force, dismissing batsmen at will. The Yorkers in particular were as lethal as ever. He began the season with a spell of five for 13 against the Delhi Daredevils. On most occasions, he looked intent on sending the batsmen to the hospital with broken toes. Almost every other delivery was an unplayable yorker, fired in at a scorching pace. Malinga remained a force through the year and was the leading wicket-taker by some distance.



5:   Morne Morkel (Season: 2012, M: 16, W: 25, Ave: 18.12, BB: 4 for 20)

Morne Morkel

The towering Morne Morkel was the star player for the Delhi Daredevils in 2012. The great thing was that he bowled with good pace and varied his line well. This year, he also found his Yorker-bowling mojo as those toe-crushers came at that height. Many batsmen were left baffled on the backfoot as they tried to keep these deliveries out. Morkel went on to have a very consistent time through the tournament and his best moment was when he turned a game against Rajasthan Royals in the penultimate over, and win it for the Delhi Daredevils. Oddly, he was dropped for their second Eliminator as Delhi Daredevils wanted some other combination.

6:  Dwayne Bravo (Season: 2013, M: 18, W: 32, Ave: 15.53, BBL 4 for 42)

Dwayne Bravo

The value that Dwayne Bravo brings to a side is almost unparalleled. He has often been termed as the batting-all-rounder, but in 2013, he turned it on with the ball in hand. Bowling those beautifully disguised slower-deliveries, Bravo was quite a handful and picked up wickets in heaps. Getting 32 wickets in a season is no joke and it remains the most by any bowler in an IPL. Bravo played his part as Chennai Super Kings made their way to the final of the tournament, only to lose to Mumbai Indians.


7:  Mohit Sharma (Season: 2014, M: 16, W: 23, Ave: 19.68, BB: 4 for 14)

Mohit Sharma

In 2013, Mohit Sharma made a name with his consistency for the Chennai Super Kings and was then picked for India. However, in 2014, he came of age and matured as a good one-day bowler. Mohit picked up the art of variations and used them to good effect through the IPL 2014. The back-of-the-hand slower ball in particular was the most effective weapon as he dished it out in the midst of a few quick deliveries. Mohit finished as the leading wicket-taker and regained his spot in the Indian team, going on to play the World Cup the following year.


More from this writer:

The season-ending Orange Cap winners in IPL history

Sachin Tendulkar: 10 anecdotes that underlines the fantastic human being the maestro is

Why is David Lloyd in the IPL commentary box after being ‘critical’ of it in 2010?


(Nishad Pai Vaidya is a Correspondent with CricketCountry and anchor for the site’s YouTube Channel. His Twitter handle is @nishad_45. The above article was first published in CricketCountry)