ACC U-19 Asia Cup 2019: Dhruv Jurel to lead India Under-19s in Sri Lanka
Dhruv Chand Jurel has played two Under-19 games for India. (Image: Facebook)

India’s junior selection committee has named an India Under-19 squad of 15 for the 2019 Youth Asia Cup – also known as the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Under-19 Cup – to be held from September 3-15 in Sri Lanka, which is led by Dhruv Chand Jurel.

Jurel, a wicketkeeper-batsman from Agra, takes over from current India U-19 skipper Priyam Garg. Jurel, 18, is currently with the India U-19s in England where the team is contesting a tri-series involving England U-19s and Bangladesh U-19s.

On tour with India U-19s, Jurel has scored 41 runs in two innings and held five catches.

(READ: Virat Kohli fancies India’s chances of at World Test Championship)

From that squad, the All-India Junior Selection Committee has made nine changes: Garg, Shubhang Hegde, Yashavwi Jaiswal, Pragnesh Kanpillewar, Kartik Tyagi, Prabhat Maurya, Ravi Bishnoi, Sameer Rizvi and Divyaansh Saxena are not named for the ACC U-19 Cup.

In their places, Suved Parkar, Nehal Wadhera, Arjun Azad, Varun Lavande, Salil Arora, Atharva Ankolekar, Pankaj Yadav and Akash Singh have been named.

India are the defending ACC U-19 Cup winners.

India U-19 squad: Dhruv Chand Jurel (capt/wk), Suved Parkar, Thakur Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Arjun Azad, Shashwat Rawat, Varun Lavande, Salil Arora, Karan Lal, Atharva Ankolekar, Pankaj Yadav, Akash Singh, Sushant Mishra, Purnank Tyagi, Vidyadhar Patil