Aditya Tare becomes 1st batsman to score double ton in Kanga League

Aditya Tare smashed 201 for Victory Cricket Club in a Kanga League ‘A’ Division match against Fort Vijay © PTI

By G Krishnan

Mumbai: Oct 21, 2013

Wicket-keeper batsman Aditya Tare created Kanga League history on Sunday by scoring the highest-ever individual score of 201 in the 65-year-old tournament.

Playing for Victory Cricket Club against Fort Vijay in the ‘A’ Division (Police Shield) of the restructured league, the right-handed Mumbai and Mumbai Indians star became the first double centurion in the tournament. Tare was on 72 when stumps were drawn on Saturday. He resumed his innings at the Fort Vijay ground to complete his maiden three-figure knock in the competition. The previous highest was 188 by Gopal N Koli for New Hind SC against United Cricketers, in 1972.

“Wow! I had no idea my score is the highest in Kanga League history. I wanted to just keep batting, especially with the Ranji season round the corner,” Tare told dna after the match ended in a draw.

The 24-year-old Tare, who amassed 842 runs in the Ranji Trophy last season, said he would take this confidence into the Ranji Trophy opener against Haryana at Lahli (October 27-30). “This is an important season for all of us and hopefully we can do what we did last season,” Tare said.

“The restructured Kanga League is good. One-and-a-half days of cricket game with normal conditions is great. There are no wet outfields and tall blades of grass like before. The conditions are good for cricket,” he added.

Tare said he would cherish this double century. “The club cricket scene in Mumbai is very competitive. Not every Tom, Dick and Harry gets to play ‘A’ Division cricket. I love Mumbai club cricket as it is really challenging,” he said.

From the maidans, it will be back to the Wankhede on Monday when the Ranji team begins its preparations for the season opener. And Tare is keen to carry on from where he left in January.


201 Aditya Tare, Victory CC vs Fort Vijay, 2013

188 Gopal N Koli, New Hind SC vs United Cricketers, 1972

183 Ramnath Kenny, Dadar Union SC vs PJ Hindu Gymkhana, 1954

157 Wasim Jaffer,  National CC vs PJ Hindu Gymkhana, 2000

150 KV Palwankar, PJ Hindu Gymkhana vs Gaud Saraswat, 1954.

(G Krishnan qualified as an umpire from Tamil Nadu Cricket Association in 1997 before making sports journalism as a career. His other interests include wildlife and reading. Krishnan is Principal Correspondent of DNA, where this article was first published)